Pork Chops with Apple Curry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I gave this 5 stars because it was so good. But I did not use the curry so I guess it was just Pork Chops with Apple Sauce. I am probably the least picky eater in the world but just can't do curry. As a matter of fact it is on the top of my will not eat list but think it's unfair to the submitter to dis a receipe just because I don't like something. But I loved the combination of the apples, onions, etc. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
The fat content in this recipe surprised me. I am wondering how long ago the recipe was first published, as pork chops are usually less fatty today than they were years ago. In fact, less than chichen. What is raising the fat content to 45%? (24.6g) Should this maybe be revised??? This is a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Great recipe, if bouillion is omitted. Use less apple juice and add a little chicken broth/stock instead. We love curry, but I did have to experiment with a variety of curry brands before I came up with one that I have used for about 40 years. We don't care for cumin, so I purchase one that doesn't have cumin listed as the first ingredient. As others have said, 40 min. at 400 degrees is way too long and high for chops that have already been browned. Reduce heat to 350 degrees and bake for about 30 minutes. Also to keep moist, the pan can be covered while cooking. You do have to enjoy curry to like this recipe. We found the curry amount just fine, but if you've never had curry, I'd reduce it by at least half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
Great recipe! I only did a few things differently--I like to saute the garlic with the meat. I also sauteed the meat longer and then cooked it in the sauce on top of the stove on low heat rather than baking it. I find this makes the meat more juicy and tender. I also prefer curry *paste* over powder. I feel it has a deeper, more subtle flavor. If your regular grocer doesn't have it, try to find a store that offers Eastern/Asian foods. I LOVE mango chutney and am thinking I'd like to adapt this recipe next time with a mango curry sauce. Yummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rinny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Very tasty! My chops were thin and boneless so I cooked at a lower temp (350) for a shorter amount of time (30 minutes). I prefer a thicker sauce, so I didn't add as much liquid as the recipe called for. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
This was good, but lacked depth of flavor. I used 4 very thin pork chops, browned them for a couple minutes on each side, used 1c apple juice, 1c chicken broth and 2T curry powder. I only baked it all for 15 mins at 350...any longer and the chops would've been hard as rocks. The apples were amazing, but it still felt like it was missing something and I don't think the extra 1T of curry powder was it. If I make it again, I'll use 1/2c apple juice, 1/2c chicken broth...and I'd have to put some more seasonings in there, just not sure exactly what yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
I think the temperature of the oven is supposed to be preheated to 350 degrees. 400 is way to high for those pork chops...i did it at the correct temp. of 350 and it all turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
this was a good recipe, though a bit sauce heavy. My pork chops were literally drowning in it. I would try it again, but with some modifications to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Excellent. A little soupy - perhaps a little less liquid would make the sauce more, er, saucy. It did start to thicken by the end, but I also had thinner pork loin chops that were done sooner. I used the suggestion of 1 cup apple juice and 1 cup low sodium chicken broth instead of bullion granules. But that is the same amount of liquid, so I don't think that made it so soupy. The taste was wonderful - I might cut down the curry just a bit, but my husband loved it. I might try to find a sweeter curry blend next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie Riley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bishop, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
This was an excellet recipe! A few of my changes included reducing the curry by half, using aprox. 1/2 cup chicken stock as a deglacie, slicing the chops very thinly before adding them back to the sauce and adding a handfull of dried currants. Served w/ basmati rice and curried chickpeas w/ pita bread. In future, I am considering adding coconut milk to the sauce, it may add a bit of richness to it. This one's going into the recipe box for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States