Pork Chops with Apple Curry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
Did not change the recipe - very tasty! Scaled down to 4 servings - alot of liquid. As per others, 30 min at 350 was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint-Lazare, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is delicious! I can't chop and carmelize onions and apples in 10 minutes, but the extra time is worth it. Next time I will use less juice and sauce, as others have. I also used 2 Tbls curry powder and it was too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARMIK124

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I made this last night and it was great. The only change I made was to the temperature and time - as others suggested I baked at 350 for 30 minutes - and it was NOT done. I had to put it back in for another 10 minutes or so, but I admit my chops were fairly thick. I just served with plain white rice, green beans, and a simple salad. I thought the amount of curry was just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
Milder crockpot version using pork roast: I used a 2 lb pork roast, and since I was using a crockpot, cut the apple juice to 1 cup as suggested for the original, chopped the onion and apple into dice-size pieces. Used Honey Crisp apple to see if would hold shape better and the pieces on top of the roast did. I only had cinnamon flavor applesauce, sweetened version with Splenda, so I cut the curry powder down to 1 Tbsp just in case the cinnamon made it too much. Next time I will add more, but this was mild with a curry flavor. I also used ham soup base as I had no chicken bouillon; I don't think it makes a difference due to the curry flavor. Used 1/8 tsp garlic powder as substitute for the garlic. I did not caramelize the onion, just put it with apple chunks on top of the roast, which I did not brown either. (Did not use margarine.) I did mix the other ingredients together though before pouring over everything in the crockpot, cooked for 5 hours on high and we liked it. Smelled WONDERFUL while cooking. It was not spicy. It made a LOT of sauce, 4-1/2 cups - might decrease the apple juice and add some apple jelly instead next time. This sauce might be good with ham or another meat so I didn't throw out the leftovers yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
sweet and tangy, yum!! even my 1 1/2 year old loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This was really good! My picky 8 yr. old turned up his nose when he saw it but once he tried it he really liked it. I did, however, make some changes based on what was on hand. I followed the recipe other than I used thin cut pork chops, sliced 3 small apples, used less butter, two kid size containers of no-sugar added green apple applesauce, 2 c. lite cranberry juice, and about 1 tbsp of curry. It was very liquidy so I would definitely make rice to go with it & next time I'd add more apples. Mmmm. It was very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Wonderful dish, I made mine in the slow cooker. I used apple coolaid and it was wonderful! I love this, great for fall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I used less curry and made it in the crockpot, but I can see this would turn out great in the oven too, because the amount of liquid was enough to not allow the meat to dry. The whole family loved this one. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Very tasty! I only made 2 changes to the original recipe - I used a spiced cider and 2.5 T of HOT Madras curry. This made so much sauce that next time I will cook six pork chops instead of four. My family loved the dish and wished there was more of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Half Moon Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I LOVED this recipe! It was so easy to make and it tasted like I had just ordered a meal from my favorite Indian restaurant. My only recommendation would be to get the thickest pork chops you can because I found they were overwhelmed by the fantastic curry sauce. Also, I only used one cup of the apple juice or it would have been very runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States