Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
We made a variation of this recipe and it was dynamite! Didn't have apple cider on hand so added 1/2 cup plain unsweetened applesauce plus 1 tsp. honey (didn't need to reduce the sauce). We also skipped the mustard and red pepper because we didn't think the kids would like them (didn't matter - they didn't like the vinegar smell so didn't want the sauce anyway, but were perfectly happy with the plain pork chops). But don't skip the rosemary - it really brought all the tastes together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
We loved this one! I had bone-in chops on hand so I used those. I also subbed apple juice for the apple cider, which worked out beautifully. As it was reducing I became impatient and decided to thicken it slightly to a glaze consistency with a cornstarch/water slurry. Both Hubs and I really enjoyed these and I will definitely be making them again! Thank you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Everybody liked this one. Sauce is delicious. I didn't have dijon on hand so used regular mustard. In place of apple cider (which I also did not have on hand), used Boiled Cider (1/4 to 1/3 cup) from King Arthur Flour site. This syrup is thick, so sauce thickened nicely in minutes. T-a-s-t-y!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
Made this for dinner tonight and husband couldn't stop raving about it. I made a few simple adjustments. Coconut oil instead of vegetable oil to make it healthier. I didn't have enough rosemary on hand so I used italian seasoning too. I did slightly less red pepper flakes then a full tsp for the kids but they still thought it was too spicy. Next time I'll try just a 1/4-1/2 tsp. I also had to add cornstarch to thicken. Maybe it was my preference but I prefer the glaze to be more of a sauce. All very minor adjustments yet still incredibly simple recipe - highly recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Super easy, family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
These pork chops were DELICIOUS!! Everyone in my family LOVED them, including my 4 year old. He kept asking for more "poke chops" haha! I made this recipe as directed. I know someone mentioned in their review that they didn't really get a sticky glaze, but I absolutely did. You just have to be patient with the reduction. Also - if you are considering using dried rosemary that you have in your spice rack, I would implore you to use fresh rosemary instead. Nothing beats the taste when you use fresh spices (in anything really. In my opinion a totally different flavor than when you use the dried spices that come in your spice rack! Rosemary has become one of my favorite spices but only when fresh and it's a wonderful addition in this recipe!! Thanks chef John for a superb recipe! This is definitely going into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
It takes a lot longer to reduce the sauce. More like 20 minutes at medium heat instead of 3 to 4. Great tasting! I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Joey Joan
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Easy recipe and a lovely flavor. The chops where juicy and tender and the glaze went well on the pasta I served with the chops. I will no doubt make this again. I followed almost to the tee this recipe except I only used 3 chops and I used chops with a bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joey Joan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This recipe is a keeper. I'm not a fan of pork chops but these came out great. I followed the recipe to a T except that I always season pork chops with chili powder. That's the only thing I altered. Will definitely make again...soon! Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Amy Lou
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Simple and delicious! The only changes I made were that I used bone-in loin chops, and had to substitute herbes de provence for the rosemary (it's just what I had on hand.) It also took a bit longer than stated for the sauce to reduce down. My slightly-picky husband said that he thought it was just a bit too "tangy" at first so maybe I'll cut down on the vinegar next time. Other than that, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Lou

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States