Pork Chops to Live For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
I changed some things too. I have a 7 qt. slow cooker, and I wanted to make 5 pork chops. I didn't use any eggs or milk. I simply mixed flour, garlic powder, salt and peper together and just floured the porkchops with that mixture, no eggs. Then I browned them in the shortening. While they were browning, I dumped 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of cream of chicken, 1 can of beef broth, 1 envelope of onion soup mix, and two 4 oz. cans of mushrooms in the slow cooker, and mixed it all up. After the porkchops were done browning (about 4 min. on each side), I added them to the slow cooker and covered them with the soup mixture, and let them cook for 5 hours on high. They were so tender and the taste was out of this world, the aroma filled the house. There were no extra spices needed. I served them with mashed potatos and corn. My kids loved them! I will definately make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
606 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
We LOVE this dish, I have made it many times. Before I started I read over all the reviews and this is what I can up with after all the suggestions. Omit the egg and flour process, just lightly brown pork chops in pan (I use pork tenderlion, sliced thin) Then slice 1 onion, 1red bell pepper and 1 pkg mushrooms, chop 4 cloves garlic and saute all of it in pan with little olive oil. Season with salt, pepper, season all, and little sage. Use 1 can cream mushroom and 1 can cream chicken, with the 2 cups milk. Serve over rice. Turns out perfect and my family loves the gravy over the rice. In fact I am making this tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
471 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
My husband and I love this recipe! I have made this quite a few times and always make it the way one of the other reviewers suggested: "I didn't use any eggs or milk. I simply mixed flour, garlic powder, salt and peper together and just floured the porkchops with that mixture, no eggs. Then I browned them in the shortening. While they were browning, I dumped 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of cream of chicken, 1 can of beef broth, 1 envelope of onion soup mix, and two 4 oz. cans of mushrooms in the slow cooker, and mixed it all up. After the porkchops were done browning (about 4 min. on each side), I added them to the slow cooker and covered them with the soup mixture, and let them cook for 5 hours on high." I also made mine with potatoes. Just scrub, cube, and toss them into your crockpot along with everything else. The potatoes turn out perfect every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J Miller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gulliver, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Good as is. I can't get over the way you all just change the recipe completely and then rate it!!!! Why don't you just post your own recipe? I love the recipes on this site but that is one thing that bothers me! I call it "recipe bashing!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2005
OK: Here's my take on this recipe. Salt & pepper the chops before dredging them in flour. No egg necessary. After browning, put in slow cooker. To drippings in pan, saute 12 oz. sliced, fresh mushrooms. Then add 1 can of cream of mushroom soup, 1-1/2 cans of milk, then 1 packet of onion soup mix. Mix ingredients and bring to boil, then add to slow cooker. I used six thick, boneless chops and had more than enough gravy. Fork tender, no need for a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
This tasted really good! The only thing I added was a packet of onion soup mix, but I would change a couple of things based on texture and visual appearance. I found that the egg and flour coating gave the chops kind of a slimy "skin" - next time I'll just season the chops and brown them without the dredging step. Also, instead of slicing I would chop the onion.....the slices in the gravy looked a little too worm like for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This was pretty good and very easy. I made some changes to make it a healthier meal: I used thick, boneless pork chops, skipped the whole dredging/frying part, I used the 98% fat free soup, 2 cans of evaporated skim milk and added other seasonings. The meat was so tender! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetaddiction

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
With the appropriate "tweeking" this is definitely a "5". I shop "on sale", and found sirloin and rib chops, bone in, for $.89 a lb. I used 11 of them (I have 6 stepdaughters, 2 sets of twins!) Cut off excess fat, sprinkled with seasoned salt and pepper, dredged in 1/2 flour & 1/2 italian bread crumbs. Browned on MedHi in butter flavored shortening. Layered in lg. crock pot with slivers of onion in between. (1/2 lg white onion) 3 cans cream of mushroom soup, 2 c. milk, 1 c. cooking sherry, packet of pork gravy,8 oz. canned mushroom in pan with dripping until blended. Poured over chops, cooked on low 5 hours,removed chops and took off bone. Return meat to pot for another hour on high. Served over rice. EXCELLENT! Loved the previous reviews,.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
Making it right now. Sounds delicious. Maybe all the other folks that add all kinds of different ingredients should just submit their own recipe. I tend to try others as written. If I want to change the recipe I would have the courtesy of just offering my own, not completely changing the individuals recipe and telling everyone it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Great recipe. I did modify slightly..I added a clove or two of garlic, used one can of cream of mushroom soup and one can of golden mushroom soup. I used evaporated milk instead of regular and added in some broth for some extra flavor. I didn't have an onion(go figure) so I remembered a reviewer who added in a packet of onion soup mix..so that's what I did. I needed this to be a meal so I did add in baby red potatoes cut in half..and after 9 hours everything was PERFECT texture and taste. Great share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 394) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States