Pork Chops to Live For Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
My Mum made this when I was a kid. She used a skillet with a cover. I always add fresh mushroom to add to what is in the soup and use 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk. Comfort food served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I think it is important to note that ONE pork chop is listed at 400 calories. This is without any rice or noodles. Adding all that onion soup mix, while yummy, is going to kick up the sodium dose significantly. You're already getting 1182mg and almost 25g of FAT in ONE pork chop. Ewww. No, Thanks. Sounds like a once a year treat. Don't get me wrong. It looks deee-lish. I just want to live a little longer than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia Warhol

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Holy Cow, or should I say Holy Pork Chop!! I am not a pork chop fan, though my husband and daughter are, and I LOVED this!! Like others, I made a few changes: I didn't use any eggs or milk. I simply mixed flour, garlic powder, salt and pepper together and just floured the porkchops with that mixture, no eggs. Then I browned them in the shortening. While they were browning, I mixed 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 1 can of cream of chicken, 1 can of beef broth, and 2 envelopes of onion/mushroom soup mix. I set the crock pot on 6 hours, and left it to cook. The meat was so tender, it fell apart. I served it over egg noodles and it was a HIT!! My husband and I split the leftovers for lunch at work. I think next time, I'm going to add fresh mushrooms. And, yes, I can see this being made again and again at our house!! Fabulous recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksbluegirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I did this recipe but with alfrado, cream of mushroom soup, and I pan fried the pork chops with the bacon before I put it all in the crock pot. The pork chops were so tender they fell apart trying to get them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I used Jennifer's original recipe and Diane73162's version. I've ended up with a modified version using 1 can of cream of celery soup, one can of cream of mushroom soup, a 14 oz. can of beef broth and a package of onion soup mix. It works well with or without the milk. Substituting onion soup mix for the onion gives the final product a lot more depth and flavor. Without the milk, the gravy ends up much thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Mom made this for my sister and I when we were growing up, now I make it for my family. I don't fry mine in shortening, I do a mixture of butter and EVOO. I do add some seasonings to my dredge (fresh ground pepper, onion/garlic powder, sometimes sage) and sometimes I'll add mushrooms or a little worchestershire to the "gravy". I serve this with mashed potatoes or rice to soak up all that yummy gravy. This is true comfort food for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I absolutely am against canned soups...but this one is awesome! I added a package of sliced mushrooms into the crock pot. Next time, I think I might dice up some onions but other than that, this recipe is a keeper! I run my crock pot practically all winter long, and this recipe will be at the top of my weekly list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Rieper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA
Living In: West Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
These were good but too heavy - I think next time I will use less soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Fantastic! I cooked this for my husband and he loved it! He hates crock pot food, but he loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I am always looking for recipes that I can bring over to my parents, and they can just heat and serve. This got rave reviews from them- I mean raves. I took the advice of other reviewers and did not do the egg dip/flouring and I added some garlic; only changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States