Pork Chops in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I honestly do not understand why this recipe is rating so low!! THE CHOPS were PERFECT!! and super easy too!! I let the chops sit in the sauce for about an hour and a half prior to cooking. This made them super tender!!! I also added in a few 'smashed' cloves of garlic, some pepper, a pinch of cayenne, a dash of dry moustard and a couple dashes of worchestire sauce. Alongside the chops (in the sauce) I also added some largely chopped green and red peppers, and some onions. THEY WERE GREAT and a hit with the family... the beer was the perfect taste... not over powering at all!! LOVED THEM!! I would recommend this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
This is a simple and good weeknight dish. Made a few changes the 2nd time: I seasoned the chops good with garlic salt and pepper and then browned them. I used only half the beer, adding 8 oz. of water. I topped each chop with a thin slice of onion and then poured the liquid over the chops. I baked covered with foil for 50 minutes, uncovered them and baked 15 min. more. This made them more tender and juicy. I served over rice, but the next time, I'm going to add one cup of uncooked rice to the dish at the beginning. I think this will absorb some of the extra liquid. My family liked the taste of these pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
This recipe is definitely a keeper. Quick and delicious, lending itself to a wide variety of side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I tried this last night - husband and PICKY 4 yr old son loved it! I did change it a bit after reading the reviews. I only used about a cup of ketchup. I added some worcestershire sauce, chopped onion, mustard (to cut the sweet), and used about 3/4 of a beer. I seared the chops first and gave them some flavor with garlic salt and pepper. Served with Au Gratin potatoes - easy and great! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Jordan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I have used this recipe with a beef roast before, cooked in my beloved Pampered Chef clay cooker (has a lid) and it always is tender and yummy. I was looking to make a meal for a co-op Freezer Swap that would work in the crock pot and was a little cheaper than purchasing 5 roasts. ...and it had never crossed my mind to use pork chops. I placed the raw, un-panseared chops in the crock pot and poured the ingredients over them and mixed. I cooked them for 4 hours on high. Then removed the chops and cut away the bones, cut/shredded my tender pork chops and threw the meat back into the juice so it was flavor-ful and juicy, and then scooped it out with a slotted spoon. I highly recommend cooking this in the crock pot as oppossed to the oven....it concerned me that so many people complained of dryness, but I didn't have this problem at all in my crock. My husband and I both found this to be flavorful and enjoyed it greatly....I used Michelob Beer, I hate the taste of beer, and have yet to drink more than just a sip, and I can say that the taste of beer was not overwhelming at all. I have also used Honey Brown in the past to make both my roast and beer bread and have enjoyed the flavor. I can't wait to hear what my fellow swappers think of this easy meal!! Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Made for the Family, very very good, i added minute rice the last 10 minutes , which added a lot of flavor, will definatly cook again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greater Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Wonderful!!!! Fast and Delicious. I followed the advice of other reviewers. I let the chops sit in the sauce for 1 hour prior to cooking. I added a few dashes of worchishire, cayene pepper, and black pepper to the sauce. I also covered with foil while cooking for 50 min. and removed it, drained the liquid, and added more sauce and cooked uncovered 15 more minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Richmond Hill, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious, tender chops that whole family enjoyed. I served it with spinach, and rice that I cooked with the chops as others suggested. I made it almost exactly as written but I did brown the chops with a little garlic first. Next time I will add less sugar as it was a little sweet for my taste but that's the only change I'd make. Great easy supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
My family loved this. My pickiest daughter ate three helpings! I pretty much followed the directions given except that I did brown the chops in a little olive oil and garlic salt before I put them in the baking dish. I used Warsteiner dark beer and I didn't have quite enough kethcup so I made up the difference (1/2 cup) with Heinz 57 sauce. I used a cheap grade of chops, about 5 lbs (9 big chops with bone) and had PLENTY of sauce. We poured it over rice and it was just delicious. This is a keeper. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
I made this for a family dinner and everyone loved it! My only addition would be to pre-sear the pork to give it a better appearance than the stark white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Vail, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States