Pork Chops in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This was SUPER easy! My husband and I threw it together and even though we didn't have brown sugar (we substituted honey), and our beer was Abita Satsuma Summer Ale, it turned out really great. We are looking forward to doing this again when we have more time to marinate the chops. That would make it just perfect. I must add, though, that this is only a good recipe for you if you like the flavor of beer... its the most obvious flavor in the dish! But we love it so 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Loved it! Read some of the reviews and went with their advice to marinate the pork for an hour before thorwing it in the oven. Also i went ahead and put minute rice in for the last 10 minutes of cooking. The Pork turned out juicy and delicious and the rice was so full of flavor from the marinade. I will definitely cook this again :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brendon.mock

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This is so delicious!! The ingredients sound a bit odd but it makes a wonderful gravy. I brown the chops and then simmer over a medium heat for about 30-40 minutes. Perfect with mashed potatoes and corn. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
VERY easy recipe with a great flavor. My family loved it! The only change was that I added about 1 1/2 tbsp of mustard to make it a little less sweet. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I seared the chops with salt (w/ out sauce) before placing them in the oven. Baked them in the oven, cut down the cooking time. Added some cayenne powder and black pepper to the sauce. It was delicious! Loved it!! definitely a keeper! Did not expect it to be soo good! Had reservations about it but seriously surprised me! Its a must. I will be keeping this recipe and using it in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RM Flores

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I was looking for a pork chop recipe that sounded yummy and was simple. This recipe was a great find! I seasoned the chops first but still let them sit in the sauce for almost and hour before baking. I highly recommend thicker cut, bone-in chops. My 3 year old devoured 2 of the pork chop bones, in addition to a decent portion of meat as well. Not sure how much of a difference it made but I used Yuengling Lager this time. I think some darker beers would be quite interesting. I also have on hand some "Taste #5 Umami Paste" so I added a few squirts of that. All things considered, they were some of the best pork chops we've had in a long, long time! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
EXCELLENT! WHO WOULD HAVE THOUGHT SOMETHING SO SIMPLE COULD BE SO YUMMY! It only took minutes to prepare and really not long in the oven at all. I will DEF do this again! My picky boyfriend loved it and my kids scarfed it down. Only thing I added was powdered garlic. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyricocean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Delicious, tender chops that whole family enjoyed. I served it with spinach, and rice that I cooked with the chops as others suggested. I made it almost exactly as written but I did brown the chops with a little garlic first. Next time I will add less sugar as it was a little sweet for my taste but that's the only change I'd make. Great easy supper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Other than halving the recipe and browning the chops I followed the directions and they were really good. My husband was sceptical about a ketchup based sauce - thought they'd be too "ketchupy" but he really liked them and had seconds. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I do pretty much as the recipe said. I add a little garlic, pepper, and sea salt to taste. I let them sit in the sauce in a ziploc bag for about 2 hours. then I cook it at about 250 F for 15 minutes then 325 for another 10-15 so that the porkchops are nice and moist. I've also tried a little more ketchup for a thicker sauce and added a bit of soy sauce so it wasn't too sweet. My hubby and i love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vshultz0991

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bristol, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States