Pork Chops in Beer Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
i JUST made this recipe and it was sooo good. I wish I had more pork chops. My mother makes this at home with coke instead of beer so you can try that if you're not into alcohol. I followed others' advice a bit and rubbed the chops in salt, pepper, and garlic powder, but not excessively and only right before I put them in. I just eyed the amounts I added and used demurura instead of brown sugar because that's what I had on hand. I baked for 50 min w/ a cover lightly on top and another 15 w/o a cover as someone else suggested and they turned out beautifully tender! I had them with mash potatoes and asparagus, and would def recommend the mash potatoes to dip into the sauce and such. I used a lakeport honey and you could taste a hint of it in the chops. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
I only used 8 oz of beer the flavor was still to much - I may try again with cola
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
We really enjoyed this recipe. I added garlic salt and pepper and baked at 375 for 45 minutes. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This was ok after I made a few changes. I cut down the amount of beer to half, and the sauce was still very thin. I also put garlic powder, salt and pepper on the pork before adding the sauce. I cooked it about 20 minutes longer than it said to. The pork was very tender but it just seemed like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Ohio, USA
Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
Well I sat and read positive and negative reviews on this recipe. I did take the advice of browning pork chops first which I wish I did not due because I feel the chops would have been more tender. I made sure I mixed the sauce well before serving. Very tasty it was on the thin side. I may next time cut the beer in half as others have done. Will absolutely make it again! Oh I used a Carona.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
Ok...you know how your house smells the morning after you've had a party and everyone was drinking beer. Or the smell of beer bottles that have just a little bit left in the bottom and they sat around all night...that's kinda how my house smells right now after cooking these dandies. I can't eat anything that smells "weird" while it is cooking...like deer meat or lamb...so my husband is on his own with these chops...ok, its one hour later and my husband just came home from work and commented "ummm the house smells good" LOL...and guess what else HE LOVES THEM...he was literally licking the sauce off the bone. So I intially rated them at 3, I guess I better change it to a 5...but I still think they smell putrid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
I have to admit that I was a little skeptical of this recipe because it sounded a little extraoridnary, but my husband who despises pork chops loved these. He even went for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
Yes 5 stars, One of the Best ones ever, Friends heard about it and wanted to try it, they gave thumbs up, Try this with a side of white rice, Can't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
My parents are in town visiting and I made this tonight for them at dinner. It was simple to make and everyone raved how good it was. This is a delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I used a Cherry Wheat beer, and it came out really great. I used half the beer and seasoned the chops as suggested. The sauce was a little thin, but overall good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States