Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
The sauce tasted fine, good even. I added a few things per others' recommendations (ginger, honey). But the chops were so far beyond dry. They would have been inedible if they weren't shredded and soaked in sauce, and even like that they were really dry and mealy and not meat-like. This confirms for me that you just can't do lean meat in the slow cooker. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Followed recipe exactly. Ran out of regular soy sauce so used Kikkoman that I usually reserve for sushi. It was incredible! We're a family of 3 and the 6 pork chops I made was not enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Adding honey, halving the soy sauce, frying first. The soy sauce was too much, but it tasted okay -- my issue was that the pork chops completely dried out and were hardly edible. Maybe pork doesn't have enough fat for such a long cooking time or this might be worth trying on a larger piece of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly. It was really bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
The smell was amazing. Pretty salty but overall taste was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I was skeptical of ending up with dry pork chops at first, but the results were great. I used fresh, thinly sliced ginger, minced garlic and added a 1/2 cup of water to the mixture. Also added about 1-2TBS of honey. I used reduced sodium soy sauce, so kept the ratios between sugar, ketchup and soy sauce. Then added a 1/4 cup of cornstarch with water to the mixture during the last 1/2 hour of cooking. I noticed that around hour 3, the porkchops were really hard, but then something happened around hour 4 that caused the meat to break down and begin to separate from the bone. Definitely low and slow! My kids loved it and used the sauce as gravy for the meat and rice. My husband kept trying to find more food to dip into the remaining sauce! This is a keeper, thank you All Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I wouldn't do this again, 6 hours in a crock pot is too long, makes the chops dry. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millimob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I tried this receipe slow cooking baby back ribs. Unbelievable. They fell off the bone. Soooo tender. I slow cooked them for 6 hours. I only used 1/4 cup of soy sauce and added 1/4 cup of honey. Great sauce served over rice. It is a keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Tastes like soy sauce. Not good at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I would definitely omit the ginger next time I try this recipe. Overall I found the meat somewhat dry and bland. After reading the reviews I used only 1/4 cup soy sauce added 1/4 cup honey. I would tweak the recipe and go with the advice of DomesticEngineer2 and season with Montreal steak spice and brown. I have a crock pot with a temperature probe so they took 5 hours on slow cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 746) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States