Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
I was skeptical of ending up with dry pork chops at first, but the results were great. I used fresh, thinly sliced ginger, minced garlic and added a 1/2 cup of water to the mixture. Also added about 1-2TBS of honey. I used reduced sodium soy sauce, so kept the ratios between sugar, ketchup and soy sauce. Then added a 1/4 cup of cornstarch with water to the mixture during the last 1/2 hour of cooking. I noticed that around hour 3, the porkchops were really hard, but then something happened around hour 4 that caused the meat to break down and begin to separate from the bone. Definitely low and slow! My kids loved it and used the sauce as gravy for the meat and rice. My husband kept trying to find more food to dip into the remaining sauce! This is a keeper, thank you All Recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I wouldn't do this again, 6 hours in a crock pot is too long, makes the chops dry. Good flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by millimob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I tried this receipe slow cooking baby back ribs. Unbelievable. They fell off the bone. Soooo tender. I slow cooked them for 6 hours. I only used 1/4 cup of soy sauce and added 1/4 cup of honey. Great sauce served over rice. It is a keeper in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Tastes like soy sauce. Not good at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I would definitely omit the ginger next time I try this recipe. Overall I found the meat somewhat dry and bland. After reading the reviews I used only 1/4 cup soy sauce added 1/4 cup honey. I would tweak the recipe and go with the advice of DomesticEngineer2 and season with Montreal steak spice and brown. I have a crock pot with a temperature probe so they took 5 hours on slow cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I also used 1/2 c soy, ketsup and brown sugar and a few squirts of honey. Taste more like BBQ sauce with a tangy kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
These were OK but nothing to write home about! I think 6 hours is much too long to cook them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very easy and pork chops were very flavorful and tender. My husband liked it really well. I thought it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Howell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
With fairly thin, boneless chops, I thought 6 hours on low was a little much. I may try going 5 hours on low next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Making this for the 3rd time today. My son said I should make this every week. You know it's good if your kids like it. Only change was to add honey and omit salt. For those that said the chops were dry....2 ideas.....Did you slow cook them ? Low and slow = fall apart tender. Also, want a good quality pork chop, you get what you pay for. We raise hogs on our farm. Have found it best to buy meats from the farmer / farm markets or reputable butcher. It's amazing the difference in flavor and quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Waltz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithsburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 791) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States