Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
This recipe was easy and I had everything on hand to make it. I did use 4 bone-in pork chops though instead of boneless. I changed a few things. I omitted the ginger and salt as suggested by other reviewers. I used 1/2 cup each of brown sugar, soy sauce, and ketchup with the usual garlic and spices. It had all the makings for a good meal but we didn't like it at my house. The left overs were too sweet. If I ever make this again I will use boneless chops and add some salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Very good recipe. I followed it exactly and it was great. Next time I may try a little honey with it. I was great to throw it in the pot and walk away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Posein

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I cooked on high and checked the pork chops at 2hours and they were dry. Maybe low at 2 hours or even 1 hour and half would be good. The taste was good and liked by even my children but the chops were too dry. I also added water chestnuts, green and red peppers and doubled the ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Letty Trevino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
This recipe is delicious, tender, and juicy!!! To the reviewers that stated the recipe as being dry and/or tasteless, all I can think is that something was done wrong when making the dish. Two thumbs up!!! The only different thing I did was put the salt and pepper on the chops and not in the sauce. Maybe that's the trick that made them tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetness

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
made this with six thick boneless chops. followed others advice using 1/4 c. soy sauce, 1/2 c. brown sugar, and 1/2 c. ketchup. I also added 1/4 c. honey.I also added mushrooms, green peppers, and onion. I cooked 6 hrs. on low,then added cornstarch to thicken. Family loved it. served sauce over noodles. I loved the taste, but found it to be dry. But it was delicious cut up with sauce all over it.I will definitely make again, but will try with bone-in chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
This recipe was delicious. I made a few changes to it, though. Like others, I doubled the sauce. Instead of brown sugar, I used 1/4 cup of organic aguave -- I did not want it to be too sweet; I used 1 cup of soy sauce, but it was too salty. Next time I will use only 1/2 cup of LOW SALT soy sauce. I don't like ginger, so I omitted it altogether. I doubled the ketchup, but kept the amount of garlic the same (my husband doesn't like too much garlic). I cooked it on high for 3 1/2 hours. After 3 hours I removed the boneless pork chops, added approximately 2 tablespoons corn starch to the sauce and whisked it in. Then I added a can of sliced water chestnuts (drained), strips of fresh red and green bell pepper, and frozen broccoli and mixed it in. I returned the pork to the crock pot, nestled it into the sauce, and cooked it the remaining 1/2 hour. The flavor was excellent, the pork was tender, and the veggies were al dente. I served it over brown rice. My husband said that (with the change in the soy sauce) this recipe is a keeper. Next time I will try steak instead of pork! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I used the entire sauce for 2 pork chops and we thought it was delicious. If I were to make 6 servings I would at least double the sauce. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ivesdale, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
I've made this several times now and it's terrific. As many others have, I reduced the soy sauce (I'm not a fan of really salty food), and it works great. My DS is seven and loves it. I've been using jarred garlic as I had a giant jar in the fridge, that works just fine. More recently, I've used this recipe for a marinade for kabobs. I had purchased a large pork loin from Costco, cut some into cubes and marinated in the liquid, then put it on wooden skewers and BBQ'd. Delicious! Tonight we tried it with boneless skinless chicken thighs - the pork was better, but the chicken was still very good. A very versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and found the pork to be dry afterwards. The taste is five stars but will try to adjust it so that the pork isn't dry next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I haven't tried the finished product yet, but the dish smells delicious cooking! I made some changes based on other reviews: I'm Gluten Free and don't have any GF soy sauce around, so I used 1 cup of GF chicken broth and 3 Tb raw honey in it's place. I seasoned the pork chops with pepper and curry powder before browning/searing them in a pan, and added more curry powder with frozen pineapple to the crock pot. I'll make some brown rice to serve it with. I can't wait for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 758) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States