Pork Chops and Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2001
I have been making this for a couple of years now. To keep the meat moist, place the browned meat on the bottom of the pan with the sliced potatoes on the top and pour the sauce over everything. Way better this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHK35

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I made this tonight following some of the suggestions: omitted the salt, seasoned chops with garlic powder, seasoning salt, onion powder and pepper, added sliced onions to potatoes, added fresh garlic and heavy cream to sauce. Baked taters 30 min, then added chops and baked covered 30 min, uncovered 15 min. EXCELLENT! This is going into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
I made this recipe according to direction but threw it all in the crock pot for 4 hours and it turned out AWESOME! I reduced the salt to 1 tsp. & breaded the pork chops with...yes shake & bake (hubby likes it) they came out very tender and the potatoes were delicious! Thank you Monica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I have to give this 5 stars because my pickiest child had seconds! He's never even eaten an entire pork chop before....probably my fault...I always seem to dry them out. The chops were tender and flavorful, but I did tweak the recipe by following some suggestions from other reviewers. I did not have chicken broth, so I used 2 cups of water and 2 chicken boullion cubes. (added a pinch extra flour) I cut the salt down, but next time I will omit altogether. Also, I doubled the gravy....put 1/2 on the potatoes and baked covered for 30 minutes, then added the browned chops (seasoned well) and poured the remainder of the gravy over them. Baked covered for 45 minutes, uncovered for 15. Perfect! This is a keeper! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
This is a very basic recipe and is even better with onions and cheese in the potatoes. Yes, an hour and a half is a long time UNLESS you use a chop at least an inch and a half thick. Living in Iowa, we don't do thin chops. If your chops are thinner, start the potatoes first and add chops the last half hour or so depending on the thickness. You can par boil your potatoes to speed things up or cover and microwave for 10 to 15 minutes. I am not one to add much salt while cooking so we salt ours at the table since there is alot of salt in the broth unless you use low sodium. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I wanted to try something new instead of the same old pork chop recipe so I tried this and my husband loved it!!! No leftovers for once. I added more potatoes and cooked them for 30 minutes before adding the chops because we like them soft. The gravy was great. I used salt reduced chicken broth and didn't add any salt to the gravy and it was wonderful. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I loved this recipe. Good comfort food :) I substituted condensed cream soup (chicken dijon)plus 1/2 cup of water for the chicken broth for additional flavor and creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2002
Contrary to a few previous posts, I thought this recipe was wonderful. I basted the chops before returning them to the oven for the last 1/2 hour, and, they were exceptionally moist. I used my food processor to slice my potatoes evenly, they were very tasty, not bland at all! The only thing I would change next time is to reduce the amount of salt. Next time, I also might try adding things like parsley, etc., as was suggested by someone else! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2002
Very good. I followed other reviewers advice and partially cooked the potatoes in microwave and decreased cooking time by half. I also basted the chops with the broth from bottom of baking dish when I removed the foil for the last minutes of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
We loved this! If you don't care to use canned soups, this is a simple, easy recipe. I cooked it in the crockpot for about 4 1/2 hours. Put the potatoes on the bottom and the browned chops on the top. Try it, you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States