Pork Chops and Scalloped Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
this was great. i think i had extra potatoes so i doubled the sauce and burried the meat int the saucy potatoes. I used turkey cutlets instead of pork chops and they were soooo tender when they were done. I tried using half sweet potato half regular potatoes. the sweet potatoes turned out mushy though. they still had a great flavor though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springtown, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I have this in the oven as I type. Its a great meal that everyone likes. Watch your potatoes after one hour though, that's all I have to bake mine for. Happy Eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This is a great recipe. The modifications I made were based on what other reviews said. I added a small container of heavy cream to the sauce and doubled the sauce ingredients themselves. I coated the porkchops in flour with some season salt, parsley and paprika before browning them. I did not cook the potatoes ahead of time. I put some sauce on the bottom of my pan, then a layer of potatoes, a tad more sauce, the porkchops, sauce, potatoes again and finally the rest of the sauce. So I basically sandwiched the porkchops between the potatoes with the sauce in between each. It turned out fantastic. I just need to learn to make less of a mess in the kitchen! Thanks for another incredible recipe! We all loved it. My husband said, "Dinner tonight...that one's a keeper!" Thank you! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Auburn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Perfect. For Moms in a hurry. First time everyone liked my dinner. Quick. Simple, no exotic ingredients that kids/my wife turn their noses up at. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by freddad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
This recipes was easy and it was really good...I added onions and grated cheese to the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
My Husband Loves this Dish and to my surprise he asked for me to do it again just the other day, i Did a few Changes altho i followed most of the recipe at its most. I added dried Rosemary, Freeze dried Garlic, freeze dried red onions, a bit of garlic powder, abit more paprika. Instead of leaving the pork chops whole since i had boneless center cut i made scallop size cuts on each of them and did the usual browning but adding some of this ingredients above, after that i threw the chops on the slow cooker on low for 30 minutes while on the skillet i browned the scalloped taters on the grease left over by the chops, when the 30 minutes of the chops in the slow cooker where over i add the taters and set them on top of the scalloped chops in the slow cooker, made the gravy or sauce at last with the remaining caramel of the bottom of the skillet left over by the chops and taters and after been in the skillet for about 15 minutes when it came to a boil i smeared it all over the taters and chops in the slow cooker, letting it sit on low for 4 hrs. this came out so good, i accompanied this dish with minute rice and steamed broccoli. Great make a keeper in my family for generations to come!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BoobyBabyMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Perfect! The only thing I will change next time is to use reduced salt C-broth. Other wise it will be a weekly dish for my family... Thank You for sharing it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJIMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southbridge, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Belleview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
The family loved this (even a couple of picky girls). I made a few modifications. All I had was boneless center cut pork chops, so I reduced the cooking time by 1/2 hour. I sliced the potatoes, and poured the sauce on (w/a little heavy cream added to the sauce for creaminess), and cooked the potatoes for 1/2 hour. Also I reserved some of the sauce. During that time I browned the chops. I placed them on the last 1/2 hour, and poured remaining sauce on top. Kids usually hate any potato that is not a "fry" but they ate these all up. Needs a little more seasoning....but overall a great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshalltown, Iowa, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FarmingFabulously
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Wonderful flavor. I cooked pork chops alone on a low heat in the oven, 175 degrees. an hour before dinner, put potatoes under pork chops cooked at 350 degrees. very moist,and potatoes were excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FarmingFabulously

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ontario, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Very easy to make and delicious. I recommend extra thick pork chops for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States