Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Really great recipe Peter! My parents are German, so I grew up on this stuff, but didn't like it when I was a kid. I didn't have any apple juice, so I just added a bit of brown sugar. To make this a more complete meal, I removed the chops after browning and fryed up some bacon pieces. I then added my onions and garlic and then the kraut and caraway seeds, along with a good bottle of beer and some chicken broth. While that was simmering, I placed my chops in a casserole dish and topped them with thinly sliced potatoes. The kraut then went on top of the potatoes, I covered with foil and placed it in the oven for about and hour and a half. The "broth" in this dish was so flavorful and the meat was extremely tender. Hubby was thrilled. Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I have been making a recipe that is very close to this for years. However instead of apple juice, I use 3/4 CUP OF APPLE SAUCE and a few tablespoons of BROWN SUGAR! It really gives it nice flavor and my pork chops have always come out moist. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I too have been making a version of this for years - from mom's recipe. She always included a peeled, cored and diced red delicious apple. It's purpose is to reduce the acidity of the sauerkraut - it's supposed to turn to mush and be not noticeable when done. Her version uses pork ribs, which I've started browning first to make the color of the finished dish a lovely brown. I've also started using the caraway seeds for a subtle flavor improvement. I use the fresher 'bagged' sauerkraut found in the refrigerated food section instead of the variety in the jar, and include the juice with the sauerkraut. The apple really works! We serve it over mashed potatoes. It's one of our favorite comfort foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
It's very good! I didn't drain the liquid from the sauerkraut, plus I added more apple juice (1/4C). In a skillet I browned the pork chops on both sides and sauted the kraut too, and then for a really tender, juicy meat I baked mine at 350' (covered) for an hour. I have also tried this recipe with 1/4 cup of beer(instead of apple juice) and a 1/2 small apple, peeled, cored and sliced ,it's really good this way as well. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
Grandma made pork and sauerkraut every New Year. She'd have loved this recipe. When I served it New Year's Day, my husband said, "You sure don't have to wait a year to make this again." It was great. Note: If you use kraut with little or no juice -- you may want to add a little water or increase the apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
The chops were very tender and tasty however, I would suggest using applesauce instead of the sliced apples, they went to mush. Use quartered apples adding them later in the cooking process. This recipe benefits from the apple flavour and the appearance of the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sneakyteaky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Delicious! I wasn't going to add the caraway seed but I'm glad I did because that really makes the dish. After sauteeing everything, I covered and cooked in the oven. Put sliced potatoes on the bottom, pork chops in the middle and then sauerkraut on top.I added a bit of chicken broth to the mix as well. Absolutely awesome recipe, PETEITC. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
My family and I liked this a lot - quick, easy and tasty! I didn't have apple juice so used 1/2 cup apple sauce. I also added about 1/2 cup water half way through cooking to be sure the kraut didn't burn. Like one of the other reviewers, I am from a German background and this is just like what we used to have at home. Served with some mashed potatoes, YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
This was my first time trying sauerkraut, and I thoroughly enjoyed it! I actually used applesauce instead of juice, and I put it all in my slow-cooker for about 5 hours on high. It came out deliciously tender and moist, and my husband and I both want to have it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capabayan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2004
I loved this recipie. I seasoned the pork chops with garlic powder, onion powder,caraway, pepper and a generous amount of paprika. For the suakraut. I used bottled sauekraut, but first drained and rinsed it well and then put in a pot with just enough water to cover. I added pieces of fried bacon (about 4 slices), caraway and pepper and simmered it for a while, then I thinkened it up with a cornstarch slurry and then topped the pork chops. This is the BEST way to have sauerkraut!!!! I browned the meat first then baked for 40 minutes at 350. A great meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States