Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
Like many others, I tweaked this recipe and it was delicious! I don't care for onion pieces so I subbed 1-1/2 tsp. onion powder, doubled the miced garlic (from a jar) and apple juice and also added 1/2 can of beer. I used 32 oz. of bagged sauerkraut (drained) instead of the 16 oz. called for in the recipe and put the salt & pepper on the chops while browning. My husband, and his friend who dined with us, raved about this recipe...it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Keflavík, Suðurnes, Iceland
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Made a few adjustments -- used boneless (1 to 1 1/2 inch thick) country ribs; used packaged barrel cured sauerkraut (drained); added 1/2 to 3/4 cup chicken broth; used about 4T brown sugar instead of apple or apple juice. After browning meat, removed from pan and sauteed onions and sauerkraut; added broth and stirred to get all the "good stuff" from bottom of pan; added rest of ingredients and simmered on LOW for 1 1/2 hour (or until pork very tender). Added potatoes and continued cooking until potatoes were tender. WOW! Had for dinner, lunch and dinner the next day! Might be great in a slow cooker also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanacool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Great recipe! Turned out fabulous. My husband doesn't like the taste of vinegar so the apple juice really did the trick to make this a nice flavor. I did put small chunks of a Granny Smith apple into the mixture. Easy and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
boyfriend loved it. made canned saurerkrout actually taste good----thanks to the fennel seeds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I used a small chopped apple to substitute the apple juice. This was great with spaetzle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
My family and I liked this a lot - quick, easy and tasty! I didn't have apple juice so used 1/2 cup apple sauce. I also added about 1/2 cup water half way through cooking to be sure the kraut didn't burn. Like one of the other reviewers, I am from a German background and this is just like what we used to have at home. Served with some mashed potatoes, YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
We really enjoyed this! Did add applesauce & an apple per other's suggestions & more kraut, but we like lots of kraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2006
This was tasty & flavourful the first day, but it was even better as leftovers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara-On-The-Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Great flavor. A little dry though, I didn't add the liquid from the kraut. I think I will next time or add a little water. The amount of apple juice was just right and added just a touch of sweetness. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
A REAL HIT WITH FAMILY - MIGHT LEAVE OUT THE CAROWAY SEEDS THE NEXT TIME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States