Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Just had this last night, it is excellent. I did follow the reviewer Linda Mclean who made some suggestions of things to add or use. Added onions, bacon and potatoes--Didn't have apple juice so I used 2 TBS of brown sugar and added a sprinkle of cinnamon. I used canned sauerkraut and about 1/2 bottle of beer--this was a HUGE HIT. Will add this to my recipe box! VERY flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t. hayes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Very good recipe. going in the keep box. Second time I made it, I brought it down to two servings. No taste lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wauconda, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Very delicious and easy to make. Even my husband who isn't a big fan of sauerkraut liked it. I followed the instructions with these changes: I used a 24 oz. jar of sauerkraut and two 1 1/2" chops, to serve 2 people. We have enough pork leftover for lunch the next day and a small amount of sauerkraut. If serving 4 I would double the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barbferg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Very good recipe, thank you for sharing! I had a couple of cooking apples so I sliced those thinly and put them in along with about 1/4 cup applesauce left in a jar instead of the apple juice. Since I had about 8 thin boneless pork chops, I used two large jars of sauerkraut and there was plenty of juice. The apples I used were *very* tart and so I added a little more brown sugar. I browned the pork chops but baked the dish instead of finishing on stove top. I baked it at 350 for an hour as I had effectively doubled the recipe. It was delicious! The baking mellowed and pulled all the flavors together. I served it with boiled potatoes and creamed corn (as that was what I had on hand). Next time, I think I will try finishing it off in the crockpot. Great recipe though. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Ok, I just made this and it's awesome. I probably shouldn't review it until I try it with the caraway seed (I didn't have any) But I'm sure it will only enhance a great combo of flavors. My only problem will be trying not to eat the whole thing. Soo good! And soooo easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Plitt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fontana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Unlike some reviewers, I truly appreciate reading reviews where lots of changes have been made -- it gets the creative juices flowing. Plus,it's a rare recipe that doesn't have two or more ingredients that my food sensitivities do not allow. So I tweak based on those sensitivities, on what I picked up at the CSA in a given week, and on what suggestions other reviewers have provided. So... after browning the chops (usually in bacon grease or olive oil), I remove them and throw in onions After they caramelize, I throw in as much or as little garlic a I want, followed shortly by caraway seeds. Then I add root vegetables -- the first time parsnips, and this time a carrot and a watermelon radish -- and add low-sodium organic chicken broth. The chops go in next, and then I dollop apple sauce and sauerkraut on top of that. Cover and simmer until the veggies are tender enough and the pork has reached recommended internal temp. The flavors together are unbelievable, and it's an easy, quick, and nutritious one-pot meal. Thanks to PETEIYC and all the helpful reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This was sooo good! I followed the directions and proportions as directed except for the caraway seeds - but only because I didn't have any. Still turned out amazing. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by angeldylanluke
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I have this thing where I HAVE to try a new recipe every weekend, because I get bored with food. THIS was it for us this weekend. I used pork sirloin chops that were REALLY thick and I spiced them up & browned them like others....sauteed some onions and mixed that with drained sauerkraut. Threw a chopped up apple on top and a dash or so of apple juice. Made Mashed potatoes on the side and YUMMMM!!!!! My 13 year old who loves everything insisted he was going to hate this.....but he loved it! The pork just fell apart so I helped it a bit and mixed it all together. The polock in me is LOVING IT! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldylanluke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
This was very good. I caramelized the onions after browning the chops, then added the rest of the ingredients. I didn't have apple juice, so I used 2 tbsps of brown sugar and added about 1/4 cup of raisins and 1/2cup of chicken broth (my kraut was too dry) It was wonderful. I served it with mashed potatoes and some cranberry sauce. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is the one recipe that I have not altered to suit my tastes and was extremely surprised by how well it tastes. If you love saurkraut and are looking for something new you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by narleycook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States