Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
I thought this was quite good. I did what other reviews suggested and chopped an apple and added it to the saurkraut. Now 2 TBSP ?? applejuice, well I added probably half a cup I did not measure. I think it would burn otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Loved this one and I don't like sauerkraut; my husband loves it and he thought this was great. Used applesauce since we didn;t have any apples and I threw it all in the crockpot on low for about 10 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
This is a great recipe, but next time I am thinking of putting the browned chops and sauerkraut mixture into the oven at a low temperature for a long time. I'm hoping for more tender chops this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I added a cut-up apple and a few juniper berries to the sauerkraut and onion, and instead of apple juice, I used some German Riesling. Country-style boneless pork ribs were phenomenal, browned nicely and stayed juicy and tender. Yummmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I triewd this , but added 1 apple and I added an onion quartered. I also browned the pork chops first in a pressure cooker, then added apple and onion and quartered white potatoes and and baby carrots and instead of water i used apple juice. then i cooked for 10 minutes then let the pressure go down by itself chops were very moist and the whole meal was in one pot delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Delicious. I sliced a Granny Smith apple into the sauerkraut mixture and instead of apple juice, I used a few tablespoons of frozen apple juice concentrate. I keep frozen orange juice and apple juice concentrate in my freezer and often substitute them when a recipe calls for orange or apple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
My husband and I loved it. Easy, quick great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenlee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Dalworthington Gardens, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I too have been making a version of this for years - from mom's recipe. She always included a peeled, cored and diced red delicious apple. It's purpose is to reduce the acidity of the sauerkraut - it's supposed to turn to mush and be not noticeable when done. Her version uses pork ribs, which I've started browning first to make the color of the finished dish a lovely brown. I've also started using the caraway seeds for a subtle flavor improvement. I use the fresher 'bagged' sauerkraut found in the refrigerated food section instead of the variety in the jar, and include the juice with the sauerkraut. The apple really works! We serve it over mashed potatoes. It's one of our favorite comfort foods!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
I have been making a recipe that is very close to this for years. However instead of apple juice, I use 3/4 CUP OF APPLE SAUCE and a few tablespoons of BROWN SUGAR! It really gives it nice flavor and my pork chops have always come out moist. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
Good recipe even for those who not a big fan of sauerkraut. I added more apple juice. My wife and eldest loved the dish. It was easy and quick, but thought I is was good, and I doing the rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States