Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
Great Job! I added some curry and didnt have any of the caraway, but it still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2005
Very good, I added a half of a peeled Granny Smith apple for flavor. I was very impressed. I would recommend this to my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
I had to cut way back on the amount onions to make the recipe any good. It's a great idea but it needs a little personal touch when you make it. To follow the recipe as is, is a risk you take if your susceptible to indigestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
I added half a cup of applejuice to the recipe and substituted corriander for caraway seeds. The meat was tender and tasted great! I enjoyed the saurkraut, so did my husband, but we couldn't eat too much of it. A small pinch of the kraut with every bite of chop was just as well. The saurkraut tasted mild and sweet. This is a good recipe that I'm going to make again, but next time I'll make some minor adjustments and TRY to have caraway seeds on hand. I'd have given this recipe a rating of three and a half stars if I could, but it wasn't quite deserving of four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mad Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Shorewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Just LOVED this recipe! What a great spin on plain old porkchops. As others, I did not have any apple juice handy, so I substituded applesauce, otherwise, I followed the recipe to the T. Make a side order of potatoes to go with, and you have a complete meal in 30 minutes. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
I didn't change anything but I would recommend draining the sauerkraut before adding to the skillet. The apple juice gives it plenty of moisture to keep it from burning. I did brown the pork chops first as some of the other reviewers suggested. I didn't think there was enough sauerkraut and next time I'll make with 32 ounces. This is an excellent way to satisfy your craving for sauerkraut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
Really great recipe Peter! My parents are German, so I grew up on this stuff, but didn't like it when I was a kid. I didn't have any apple juice, so I just added a bit of brown sugar. To make this a more complete meal, I removed the chops after browning and fryed up some bacon pieces. I then added my onions and garlic and then the kraut and caraway seeds, along with a good bottle of beer and some chicken broth. While that was simmering, I placed my chops in a casserole dish and topped them with thinly sliced potatoes. The kraut then went on top of the potatoes, I covered with foil and placed it in the oven for about and hour and a half. The "broth" in this dish was so flavorful and the meat was extremely tender. Hubby was thrilled. Thanks so much!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2005
An absolutely fantastic recipe for pork chops! My husband nor I are not normally big fans of pork chops...However, I decided (sceptical though) to try try this recipe for some diversity. We thoughorly enjoyed it. I added a little more garlic and 1 1/2 onions (instead of just 1), about 1/4 c. apple juice. In addition, I added 1/2 tsp. ground red pepper(for extra flavor). I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OMR1900

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Awesome!!! My 2nd time making pork chops … and very successful - my husband, my cousin,and I loved it. I didn’t have neither apple juice nor apple sauce, so I grinded 2 fresh apples and I cut-up 2 apples. I’ll definitely do it again – rather fast and very tasty!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2005
Thanks so much!! I'm 20 yrs old and just starting out on my own. I've never cooked pork before, but tried your recipe anyway. I LOVE IT!! Thanks for making me feel like I'm doing ok :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States