Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This recipe had really good flavor. I took another reviewers tip and used apple sauce and a little brown sugar instead of apple juice. The pork chops were good, but came out a little tough even though they were still a little pink in the middle. I think this recipe would work better with a thinner chop. Obviously the cooking time for the pork would have to be shorter too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This recipe was so yummy and reminded me of my childhood! My husband and son couldn't get enough! I added a bit more apple juice to give more liquid but other than that it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry Lang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
It's very good! I didn't drain the liquid from the sauerkraut, plus I added more apple juice (1/4C). In a skillet I browned the pork chops on both sides and sauted the kraut too, and then for a really tender, juicy meat I baked mine at 350' (covered) for an hour. I have also tried this recipe with 1/4 cup of beer(instead of apple juice) and a 1/2 small apple, peeled, cored and sliced ,it's really good this way as well. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Great Recipe. I've made this twice already. And made the sauerkraut by itself with smoked sausage and bacon once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Batesville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Strawberry, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Love this recipe! I used apple juice concentrate from a can and omitted the caraway seeds just because we don't like them. I also used fresh sauerkraut from a local german deli...YUM. The only thing I would change would be the cooking time. I think 20 mins. for the porkchops was a bit too long. They were kind of tough. Maybe 10 to 15 mins. would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
We loved this recipe! My 1 year old just lapped up the sauerkraut and my neighbor was begging for the recipe. After years of experimenting with pork & sauerkraut recipes and finding all of them too bitter, this is my "new classic." Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Flavorful but next time I'll put them in a slow cooker so they'll be tender. A little tough, even with the juice of the sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri O.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
First off. I hate sauerkraut and only made it because the wife loves the stuff but I must admit this is darn good even to me. I used Silver Floss Bavarian Style that already is well flavored with caraway seeds and a half cup of applesauce rather than just juice. I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sticky

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This was really easy, and especially delicious with fresh, homemade sauerkraut. I also substituted apple sauce for the apple juice, and it worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hoover, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
Husband liked this more than I did - I'm not a big fan of caraway seeds. This was good but I should have used less onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States