Pork Chops and Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
I took the advice of others and used applesauce instead of apple juice. The pork came tender and the kraut was so good, the best pork chops and kraut recipe I've made to date. This dish will definitely be in our regular meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelbebee77

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I took Linda's Advise and followed her direction. Pork became tender and it was delicious! One thing I changed was that I added 2 tbs of apple compote, since I didn't have apple juice nor an apple. The kraut was still tart to my taste so I added another tbs of brown sugar. Thanks Linda for your great advise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kahori526

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
The pork chops themselves didn't have much flavor. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Tasted very good. I left the juice in my kraut when added to the pan. I also peeled, cored and diced an apple for texture, and just poured in apple juice. I also put Montreal Steak Spice on my chops when browning. Very good. Kinda spicy (from Steak Spice), kinda tangy and kinda sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angeldae23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
The sauerkraut is so very good love the taste! Will make it again. Di
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
This went over better than I hoped. Hubby wasn't too happy about the sauerkraut, but I thought the flavor was great, AND my 14 month old ate it! I did cook this in the slow cooker. I put it in for about 6 hours on low, then when the chops started to fall apart I switched it over to warm. This is great served with spaetzle. I'll make this again, just not for hubby. Is it bad that my 30 year old husband is a pickier eater than my 14 month old? LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
this was okay. i didnt care for the caraway--it tasted too much like rye bread. although i love saurkraut, it just wasnt very special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Delicious! I wasn't going to add the caraway seed but I'm glad I did because that really makes the dish. After sauteeing everything, I covered and cooked in the oven. Put sliced potatoes on the bottom, pork chops in the middle and then sauerkraut on top.I added a bit of chicken broth to the mix as well. Absolutely awesome recipe, PETEITC. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made this for 1. Didn't have any o.j., so I used manderine juice. I couldn't find my caraway seeds, so I had to leave them out. Even without them, it was excellent!! Can't wait for the next pork chop. (I found my seeds). This is a keeper, and is easy to make. I used canned and drained sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Cherry Valley, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This recipe had really good flavor. I took another reviewers tip and used apple sauce and a little brown sugar instead of apple juice. The pork chops were good, but came out a little tough even though they were still a little pink in the middle. I think this recipe would work better with a thinner chop. Obviously the cooking time for the pork would have to be shorter too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rifle, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States