Pork Chops and Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
When I make this recipe, I omit the oil and add cream of mushroom soup and a can of peas. I spread the cream soup on the bottom of the pan, sprinkle the onion soup mix over top, then the can of drained peas, then the rice then the browned chops. Then pour boiling water over top. The cream soup mixes with the onion soup and then comes up through the rice and over the chops. I also use 1 1/2 cups of long grain rice for the 3 cups of water. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This recipe is so easy to make, little mess & my family absolutely loves it!!! I would recommend this to anybody, it's awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Double the recipe and added one more pork chop for my large family baked in a large baking pan. Thought the onion soup might overpower but they sweetened up. Turned out pretty yummy but the one pork chop on top got a bit dry. The others that were "under neath" were tender and delicious. Thank belveal. I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Rice tasty but my thick pork chops were so dry even with 45 minutes of baking with lid on and at a lower temperature . Needs a gravy to eat it and definatly less time at baking.Maybe 25 minutes would have sufficed. Sorry won't be saving this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longueuil, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
4 stars for a soup recipe is pretty good although this one is almost a 3. The rice ( I used Basmati ) had a wonderful flavour but was perhaps just ten minutes overcooked. I'd suggest 1/3 cup less water and 10 minutes less cooking. The chops were delicate and juicy but not all that flavourful so next time I'll brine before searing and ramp up the soup mix with a caramelized onion/beef broth reduction. A little extra salt wouldn't hurt either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raedwulf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Okanagan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly and it was yummy! It was very tender and flavorful, and my rice was perfectly done. My husband and 13 month old gobbled it up. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I seasoned the pork chops with salt, pepper, and garlic before browning. I also added a can of cream of mushroom soup to the rice mixture before topping with the pork. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valarie Botchlet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cashion, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Yummy! Added a can of cream of mushroom as well. Chops were tender and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This was pretty good. I'd have liked it to have more flavor, but the meat and rice were tender and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
YUMMY! Does need a touch of salt but BELVEAL was right, very easy and quite tasty. My 3 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Smoky Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled bone-in pork chops with a smoky marinade.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States