Pork Chops and Dirty Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
When I make this recipe, I omit the oil and add cream of mushroom soup and a can of peas. I spread the cream soup on the bottom of the pan, sprinkle the onion soup mix over top, then the can of drained peas, then the rice then the browned chops. Then pour boiling water over top. The cream soup mixes with the onion soup and then comes up through the rice and over the chops. I also use 1 1/2 cups of long grain rice for the 3 cups of water. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
I seasoned the pork chops before browning them. It was supper easy to make with very little mess. I have a house full of guys and this was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This recipe is so easy to make, little mess & my family absolutely loves it!!! I would recommend this to anybody, it's awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This is an absolute hit with my family, follow the recipe exactly & feeds a family of 4 with two males who have a hearty appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jena, Louisiana, USA
Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This is very good! Like others have said, it is also very easy and doesn't make a big mess. I have always done the pork chops, rice and mushroom soup bake, but decided to try something different. We all liked it very much. I was a bit afraid the rice might be a little dry without the soup so I made a separate pan of cream gravy. Glad I did. The cream gravy was excellent with the rice and the chops! Hubby said the gravy was a great idea! I'm sure if I make this again, I will make the gravy as well. I'm just afraid without it the dish would be too dry. Overall: very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Greening Stocker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was very easy to make and my family loved it. I have made it two more times with great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Double the recipe and added one more pork chop for my large family baked in a large baking pan. Thought the onion soup might overpower but they sweetened up. Turned out pretty yummy but the one pork chop on top got a bit dry. The others that were "under neath" were tender and delicious. Thank belveal. I will be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSAZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Imlay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I was not crazy about this dish; the rice was still a bit hard by the time the pork chops were ready to come out..THe taste was ok and chops tender but not impressed w/ this dish; I won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I seasoned the pork chops with salt, pepper, and garlic before browning. I also added a can of cream of mushroom soup to the rice mixture before topping with the pork. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cashion, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This was a great easy recipe that was a breeze to prepare. Could have used a bit more salt or seasoning but all in all GOOD! And very moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Pork Loin Chops

Watch how to marinate and grill pork loin chops.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States