Pork Chops With Black Cherry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
What a delicious way to use sweet dark cherries! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I had to make a lot of substitutions to this recipe. I used chicken broth and white wine and instead of shallots I used 1/2 of chopped red onion and 1/4 tsp. of garlic. I browned the chops in olive oil (sans the salt and pepper). When they were browned on both sides, I removed them to a plate, tossed in the onions, garlic and rosemary till onion was just soft. Then I added my broth, wine, 1/4 tsp. of Jamaican jerk seasoning with 1/2 cup of homemade, low sugar cherry jam. After reducing the liquid I just tossed the chops back in the pan and baked it (I have oven-safe cookware) at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes. I was wonderful! I think there is a lot of room for play with this recipe and it will always make for a tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by extraears

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
it's been done before but still a ***** try it with Veal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxy43
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
So delicious! The only change I made was to sub olive oil in place of the butter (used only about 2 TBS). Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
My very picky eaters Loved this.. I left out the rosemary not a big fan of the flavor and at the end I poured the cherries and remaining beef broth over the chops and let them cook another hour at 200.. they were so tender.. Thanks for sharing..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This sauce is the most delicious thing I have ever made. I would pour it on pancakes its so good!! I usually pair it with a pork roast or tenderloin . Side dish - butternut squash risotto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmaline

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Very good, make sure to use dark cherries (aka: bing cherries) as other varieties will make this recipe too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I loved it, but I would say that about anything with cherries in it! I did not have fresh cherries and so used dried, and it still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Bravo to my fellow Oregonian. This recipe was great! I used chicken broth instead of beef broth and served it with jasmine rice and peas. My husband said to make this one a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
These were amazing! Only change I made was to bake them about 5 minutes less because I was using thinly cut pork chops (about 6 oz each instead of 8 oz) and used plum wine instead of red because that's all I had. I served it with roasted brussel sprouts and baked beans, and it was one of the best dinners I've had in awhile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthiana

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rinard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cocoa-Rubbed Pork Tenderloin with Cherry Sauce

See how to make an incredibly easy pork tenderloin with black cherry sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States