Pork Chops Stuffed with Smoked Gouda and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Imagine my annoyance with myself when I discovered I had once again failed to read the recipe through, thus never realizing these chops were to be grilled. In this case, thankfully, it wasn’t a huge problem, as I was easily able to bake them in a 375 degree oven, but it underscores the point that one should always carefully read through a recipe before beginning to prepare it! The “guts” of these chops, as Hubs so eloquently described it, is particularly tasty, even tho’ the cheese mostly oozed out, as I expected it would. What it left behind, however, was great flavor! The amount of parsley seemed like overload, but rather than simply reducing it, I mixed in some chopped baby arugula (spinach would have been a fine choice too) – and it was a beautiful and delicious fit! If I was to make these again, I think I would add some fresh minced garlic to the stuffing, even tho’ it was fine as is. I served this with baked potatoes and acorn squash, all in the oven together at 375 degrees! What an easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I use this website all of the time for ideas but very rarely follow the recipe exactly. This was AMAZING. Very simple and the flavor was "out of bounds." The only modification I had was used a thick center cup chop and cooked it a little longer for the thicker cut of meat. PERFECT. Best thing I've ever made on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Absolutely one of my favorite recipes from allrecipes! It is absolutely delicious! Follow the recipe exactly. You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Henderson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
First of all I love Gouda so I thought how could you go wrong. Well you can't! These were amazing. Like all cooks I made just a few changes. First it was 20 degrees here so I was not going to grill. I cooked up the bacon, mixed with cheese and added green apples. They all go well together then I stuffed and yes then I fried them in the bacon grease. I also used the extra apples, gouda and bacon and added some milk and butter and made a sauce to top the chops with. AMAZING! I was trying to keep my dirty pans so that is why I friend in the bacon grease yeah not healthy but oh so yummy! I have posted this to facebook that is how good it is and I will be making this again! Of course next time I hope to use the grill. Just a little bit of work and you get an amazing dish! WONDERFUL I cannot say enough about this pair with some pots and peas and you are good to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Awesome pork chops. This works great for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockyTrax

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yankton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Excellent! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I am not a huge fan of pork, but I LOVE these. They're so good. I make the recipe exactly as written-- no tweaking necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Awesome! Substituted cheddar cheese and it was delish!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I was searching for a new way to make cheapy porkchops when I came across this recipe; I didn't have gouda cheese so I substituted mozzerella and swiss. It was a-MAY-zing! My husband was very impressed and said I have to make all our porkchops that way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jc21888

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Awesome recipe. Possibly the best pork tenderloin I have made yet. Yes, I used pork tenderloins instead. As I didn't have any cooking twine I used toothpicks instead. Make sure you try and pull all of them out after you cook the meat though, which can be somewhat difficult, as the whole is less appealing if you have to keep pulling from your mouth toothpicks. Also, I smothered the tenderloins in Dijon mustard before I put them on the grill - and I'm glad I did as were my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 472) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States