Pork Chops Over Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Too much cayanne pepper. Scale it back to about 1/2 tspn. Added sliced mushrooms and a pinch of saffron to brown rice. After that it was amazing . Calls for 2 cups chicken broth. I used 1.75 cups, the rest white wine ! . Delicious and easy one pan meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
It was great...made it to recipe except I thought it would be too hot for the kiddos so I cut the ceyenne pepper back some. It turned out perfect! Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Delicious! This dish was really easy and had lots of flavor. I did reduce the cayenne pepper a little bit; I think it would have been a bit too much if I wouldn't have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is really good. Very simple and flavorful. I followed the recipe exactly, but I will cut down the cayenne pepper a bit in the future, as it was a bit too much for us, and we like spicy! Definitely not the healthiest, so it will have to be a special treat, but the rice was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
It was pretty good! Cut way down on the cayenne pepper as we are not much on super spicy food! Followed the recipe exactly... W/one exception.. I added a lil extra broth towards the end of simmering to allow the rice to fully cook. Overall, a very tasty rice dish.. Will def make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
My family loved it! I left out the cayenne pepper & had to cover the rice, add more broth & simmer twice as long to cook the rice all the way but was well worth it! Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
OMG! This was sooo good, I took out too many pork chops so i doubled the recipe and it made a ton but it is all going to get eaten!! I also added a can of diced tomatoes when I added the chicken broth then a can of corn 5 minutes before the end of cooking time. Very bad for you with all the grease but I will make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice884

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by patticakes43
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Let me start by saying that the rice was very, very flavorful. It's an easy to follow recipe but I did do a couple of things differently. First of all, I used 8 chops but only doubled the recipe ingredients. Which might explain why the chops were a little bland. Well either that or I didn't salt and pepper enough (no clear measurements to go by). After browning the chops, instead of putting them on a paper towel, I put them on a plate and covered with foil. This way I could add the juices that settled at the bottom of the plate to the rice when I put in the chops. I used 1 cup white and 1 cup brown rice and I gave a large onion a rough chop and sliced four large pieces of garlic, instead of dicing and mincing them. I added 1 cup of broth to scrape the pan then added the rest of the broth to the rice. Because I doubled the ingredients, I used 2 tsp of cayenne (even though I read a lot of other reviews saying that even 1 tsp seemed to be too much). By the end of the final 20 minute cooking time, the rice tasted fiery hot and wasn't even close to being done. So, I added 1 more cup of broth (5 altogether) and let the dish cook for another 20 minutes. Some of the pieces of rice were still stiff and the chops were somewhat dry but the extra cup of broth toned down the fire a bit. Because the chops were a bit bland/dry and the rice was stiff after 40 minutes, I can only give this 3 stars. But I would still give this another try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patticakes43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Let me start by saying that I hate bacon. But my husband loves it, so I wanted to make this for him. I have to say that I actually did like the bacon in here. It added a nice smoky flavoring to the rice and was not too overpowering. That being said, this was still just okay. It was very heavy. I substituted some chili powder and paprika for the cayenne pepper since I didn't have any, and the rice was very flavorful, but the flavor is very one-dimensional. Plus, I had to add an extra cup of broth to the rice and cook it for another 10 minutes because it was completely raw after the 20 minutes was up, but this left the pork chops incredibly dry and unappetizing. Even my husband said this recipe was just all right, and he loves everything. So, I probably will not be trying this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
I made this exactly as written with the exception of cutting back on the cayenne pepper. I think a tsp is too much. I put in a little less than half of that and it was plenty spicy enough for my kids and I..my husband probably would have put the whole tsp in, but he was out of town, so....lol I found the rice was absorbing the liquid a little too quickly and that would have resulted in undercooked pork chops, so I covered the pan and simmered for the 20 minutes. No problem with hard rice. It was cooked to perfection and the chops were so tender. I will definitely make this again. Even my 12 year-old daughter, who doesn't like you to mess with her rice LOVED this (pork isn't her fav and she didn't care for that part, but it's not the recipes fault).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

See how to make tasty, tender chops slowly cooked in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States