Pork Chops Over Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I really loved the flavor of the rice!, and the pork chops stayed moist! I followed the advice of other reviewers and halved the cayenne pepper. Also, I didn't have rosemary, but I didn't miss it. I doubled the rice (used jasmine brown rice), broth, bacon, and pork. It cooked a bit longer, but they may have been due to me covering the pot. The recipe didn't say to cover and simmer, but it seemed that I should. Maybe not. After 20 minutes, there was still lots of liquid. So I uncovered and continued cooking. Eventually it was done. Anne it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by piper jones
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great meal!!! I added some colorful bell peppers and did not use cayenne pepper. Live it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Today was not a good day. This recipe went a long way to making it better. While on the never ending hunt for something for dinner,I discovered that we had some leftover pork chops that needed eating. Since I frequently come here for inspiration, I searched "Pork chops" and found this recipe. So glad I did! I followed the recipe fairly closely (a rarity for me), just making the odd change to make up for a lack of cayenne (I used Epicure's Cinqo Pepper Blend), white rice (used basmati) and rosemary (Epicure's Holiday Spice to the rescue) in my cupboard. After accidentally over salting my sauteed zucchini (I told you it was a bad day), I dumped that in as I hadn't added salt to the rice yet and it was pretty much perfect. I laid the pork chops on top and covered it for the last few minutes to heat them up. The chops were still moist and juicy and my husband, who rarely comments on dinner, said it was really good. That's enthusiastic praise coming from him! Thanks for an awesome recipe. Will definitely add it to my go to list of what to make for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
It was ok. My family was not impressed with this dish. Way too much cayenne pepper for the kiddo's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deMack
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight and everyone loved it. We all eat seconds. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
A little too greasy with he amount of fat from bacon. Should have taken more out of pan, but the flavor was greatZ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Note to self: Check other reviews before cooking. Need to cut back on the cayenne pepper. Other than that it is good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Morrilton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Great kid friendly meal. Rice was very flavorful. I used minute rice and the meal came out great. I did adjust the spices to a level I knew the kids would still eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
We are not big pirk eaters, but i had just bought a huge piece from the New Year's sales. My husband cut some pcs of pork off a whole boneless loin. We used those. And I had already cooked white rice in the fridge, so we just used that too. I've also played with the spices and varied it each time I've made it. Tastes great each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciencebaer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was really good. My teenage son, gobbled it up. I didn't have bacon so i browned in olive oil and no thyme so just left it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States