Pork Chops Italiano Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This recipe was excellent JUST AS WRITTEN, and I would not rate it after making a bunch of changes to it as many other reviewers do. I agree 100% with reviewer Larry Brooke. It would be nice to see ratings and reviews on the ORIGINAL recipe. I find it just plain insulting to the submitter of the recipe when people pompously say "here's what I did to make this a five star recipe" or "these are the changes I made" or "here's how I do it". Please rate the original and then submit your own darned recipe if you're not happy with it. Merry Christmas to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Followed the recipe as written. These were good, but not great. I would highly suggest seasoning the pork chops with salt and pepper as you're browning them, because although the sauce is flavorful enough, the chops themselves were on the bland side. Also, my chops turned out dry and I don't know if this was due to the long simmering time or what. On the plus side, this recipe is easy and presents nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
The secret to moist pork chops is to use bone in chops. The boneless chops dry out during the simmering process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
These pork chops were tender and juicy and had a lot of flavor. We loved them! I followed the recipe except for the mushrooms (didn't have any) and I left out the salt (personal preference). This is a terrific quick and easy weeknight dinner that everyone will love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
Delicious! I scaled this to 2 servings, but made half of the sauce. I used a mix a colored peppers and sautéed them separately, topping the chops with them when plating. The flavor of this is excellent, perfectly seasoned. The only thing I would change next time is to cut back on the simmering time because my chops dried out a bit, even though I used a very low simmer. But that is an easy fix and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I absolutely loved these pork chops! The only thing I did was added a little bit more seasoning since my family likes their food spicy but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly and it was a sure hit! It's been added to my recipe box for future use. The chops are juicy and tender...try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I put this in my Recipe Box because of it seemed to be a very healthy recipe...according to the nutritional information...although I wonder if it was calculated correctly?? Anyway..it was quite simple to make and it was VERY tasty! I used a 540 ml can of Alymers Cracked Black Peppercord and Roasted Garlic stewed tomatoes and the flavour was AMAZING! I used a red pepper but otherwise I followed the recipe pretty much exactly. The sauce was so good it might be good as a pasta sauce on it's own and I will defiantly try this with chicken. * I did try this with chicken..not as good..something about the pork chops I guess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These pork chops are very good. I use diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of the regular tomatoes and added black greek olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Very tender pork chops indeed! I used the same amounts for 4 chops instead and it's not too much, especially since we ate them with only a small side of mashed sweet potatoes. Will be making them again and this time, I will be sure to brown the mushrooms and chops more. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Really good. Didn't change much from the original recipe, just added some steamed spinach on top. Had it with a sweet potato, which was good, but I think it might be better with some pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States