Pork Chops German Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I made this for myself, and used two chops. Had the second one two days later and it was as delicious as the first one. For one or two people there was enough rice for the meal, I added chicken broth to have enough to make the gravy. If you need more rice, just make it on the side. excellent one pan dish.Both my parents were German, but this must have been a 1950r 60,s dish I think. Very good then and now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn Burbank

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I grew up with this EXACT recipe, in fact when I was little, I thought it was the only way you could cook pork chops . I've tried other ways to make them, but I always come back to this one. There's just something about the mustard that makes it so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
So I tried this and I love it! I think key is to marinade chops in mustard for several hours then dredge in flour,wash with an egg batter then re-dredge in flour.This helps keep the "mustard crust" from falling off in the pan frying process.Also while pan frying no matter the topping it's best not to turn the meat more than once, it's hard but wait the 7 to 9 minutes before turning, too soon and it will mess your crust right up! Sooo to whomever said cook until the juices run clear, obviously has not cooked with a sauce. Hello!?! How are you supposed to see the "clear" juices running out of the meat if you can't even see the meat? Timer folks. I hate using a timer but when I can't see the meat it's very important. They can say 3 minutes per 1/4 in cut of meat BUT do you have your ruler out measure your meat cut? I don't, so start with the above rule of thumb then trial and error it with a timer until you get it just right then WRITE DOWN HOW LONG IT TAKES! :) I used 2 inch chops and this recipe took me about an hour and a half give or take from beginning to end. I used Cream of chicken as I had no chicken and stars. I added 3/4 of a can of milk to the soup so it wouldn't simmer dry also allows the mustard flavor to shine thru.I added 1 minute rice to the chops after i added the soup.Because my chops were so thick I needed to add some liquid to my sauce at the end, I simply whisked more milk into the leftover can and added as needed. Other then that no changes and I LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brenda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winooski, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
Something different from you average fried pork chop. I tried this recipe for the first time and my family enjoyed it; especially my toughest critic my dad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
My BF really liked these, to me they were kind of bland. One can of soup hardly put any rice over all 4 chops. It wasn't bad but it just wasn't anything that stands out either. Wouldn't make again, but wanted to at least give it a try cause it sounded interesting and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Made exactly as written. My husband seemed to like it, but I thought it was pretty bland. Kids ate, but nobody raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I am part German, but I didn't care for this recipe. My husband said it was good and my son felt the same as I did. I don't I'll be makinig this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This recipe has been in our family for years, only we coat one side with horseradish and the other with mustard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This is super good. I loved it all and will for sure make it again. I don't think this needs salt at all since the soup adds to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I would warn that you need to drain the soup before using it on the porkchops. I did not do this and it left the meat very soggy. I also did not like the mustard taste. I thought that if the mustard was more prominent it would have tasted much better. But, instead it was a faint mustard taste which I disliked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States