Pork Chops Capri Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
The consensus feels the taste is bland and the sauce too watery, but since I had most of the ingredients, I decided to try it with a few modifications. Since its tomato-based, it definitely needs some garlic and onions. Most pizziola sauced and marinara sauces have that so you can't go wrong. My fix so the taste is not bland - add 2 cloves minced garlic and 1/2 cup chopped onion about a minute before the chops are done browning. Also increase spices (I used oregano, fresh parsley and crushed red pepper to the sauce). To fix the watery issue - in lieu of 23-ounces of tomato juice (that is a lot of liquid) I used a 14-ounce can of diced tomatoes and 1/2 cup of tomato sauce to thicken it up. My only other change was I used slightly under the 1/2 cup water recommended since this also contributes to soupy consistency. Other than that, i rate this a "4" and would make again like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Had to use up some ingredients in the house and this recipe fit the bill. Definitely wouldn't go looking to get the ingredients to make this again. Completely lacking in anything appealing in the flavor department. Edible but not enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I and my family love this dish. I do substitute diced tomatoes for the tomato juice and I always tend to bump up the spices, particularly garlic, just because we like it a lot. The flavor is great and I love that it's done all in one pan. I usually serve with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I give this recipe 2 stars, my husband a 4, so we'll settle for a 3. I thought it was very, very bland, but he inhaled his, caveman-style. I followed the recipe exactly, except I rubbed the pork chops in salt, pepper, and paprika prior to browning them (also tossed a handful of red onion and red bell pepper in the skillet for color), and used red white vinegar. The "sauce" was so watery, I had to serve dinner in soup bowls, so I wish that I'd taken the suggestion of other reviewers and either thickened it w/ corn starch, or possibly used tomato sauce/paste, or less juice. I appreciate trying out a new recipe, but I think I'll stick to baking my pork chops and serving them w/ the green beans, mushrooms, or alternate veggie on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Great meal to cook after bolognese as the left overs fom one cooks the other. also taste great on top of fried rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
Very good, of course I altered it a bit...I used 1 can of tomato soup, chicken bullion in the 1/2 cup of water and about an ounce or more of Beer, yes Beer!! It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
I wasn'[t sure if this was something I would liike...but it turned out very good. I doubled the amount of hot sauce bc me and my boyfriend love spicy things. It is def something I will make again...it is perfect if you are cooking for alot of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
tasty, but sauce was too thin I even used tomato sauce instead of juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fruita, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was ok, but it was too tomatoey for my liking. Maybe if another base was used other than tomato juice, and only some tomato was added later this would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
We thought this was just ok. I didn't think the sauce was flavorsome at all - I added a lot more seasoning, plus some diced tomatoes, and a splash of Worcestershire sauce. I also thought it was extremely watery. I'm glad others liked it, but I won't be making this again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Sorta Blackened Chili Rubbed Pork Chops

See how to make flavorful blackened chops without setting off the fire alarm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States