Pork Chop and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I used other suggestions and increased the cheese and potatoes; I decreased the milk and added garlic and French-fried onions (see my other reviews for more doubled recipes.) I used 6 medium sized potatoes sliced in the food processor. After sautéing pork chops in olive oil, I sprinkled with a season salt. It doesn't matter if it’s a season salt or some sort of rub, just put a spice on it. Then I took it out of my pan and added the onions with 2 cloves of garlic, sprinkled with paprika and pepper and sautéed. I bet you could increase the onion a bit. I didn't because of the kids. Don't add salt. I did one time and it was too salty. At this point I added the soup and 1/2 of cup of milk only. Even with six medium sized potatoes, this was enough fluid. Mix this up, add the potatoes and pour over pork chops that are in my 13 x 9 rectangle stone; cover with foil the first 30 min. and then remove foil, top with 2 cups cheese and sprinkle with French-fried onions and bake 30 more minutes. I think the key to this recipe is thin chops, covering the dish. Also, instead of the spices you could probably just ad a can of golden mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was great with the few minor changes I made. I used 4 potatoes and sliced them fairly thin- about what you would for scalloped potatoes. Then I used about a cup of chopped onion. I sliced up 3 boneless porkchops I had and then browned them in olive oil and garlic with lots of fresh ground pepper & garlic salt, took them out, and then threw the potatoes and onions in next, again adding pepper & salt. I put the potatoes & onions on the bottom of the casserole dish then the pork, then the soup mixture. Covered with foil, baked for 30 min, added more garlic salt, salt, pepper & a bit of cayenne pepper, and the cheese, recovered and baked for 25 more min. Delish! My husband loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntersmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This dish was very good...my whole family enjoyed it. I followed the advice of some other readers and seasoned the potatoes and meat before cooking, used cream of mushroom soup with roasted garlic and covered the dish the first 30 minutes. I also used olive oil to brown the chops. It may not take the full hour to cook depending on how thick your chops are...be sure to slice your potatoes very thin to be sure they are cooked through..Thank you for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
Very good and easy. I used cream of chicken soup, and I seasoned flour with salt, pepper, and garlic powder to dredge my pork chops in before browning. A light coating of non-stick cooking spray on your baking dish will make clean-up a bit easier. Make sure you use a flavorful cheese (like sharp cheddar) to add extra taste to the potatoes. Thanks Wendy for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
This recipe was extremely easy and flavorful. I sauteed pork loin chops in olive oil and seasoned with Mrs. Dash -- sliced the potatoes and onions thin on the mandolin and used the roasted garlic cream of mushroom. In addition to the cheese, I used french fried onions -- the new cheesy kind. That was really the crowning touch. I also see no reason why this recipe could not be used in the crockpot. I'm going to try it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I suggest you use a mandoline to slice the potatoes and onions. Also, the second time I prepared this, I browned the onions slightly, along with the porkchops. It was much better. I followed the suggestions about seasoning the meat and potatoes prior to cooking as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caledonia, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
This was really good. I can see adding in different vegies as well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
Big hit with the family. My four year old was asking for more meat, which she rarely does. The pork was very tender and juicy. Very good recipe. I used 1" boneless pork chops and covered the dish for the first thirty minutes. It does seem to be very important to season the potatoes and meat. I also used the cream of mushroom soup with roasted garlic instead of plain. Good move! I haven't tried it with this recipe but I know this will work based on a similar recipe: For variation and some spice, use a jerk rub on the pork or marinate in a jerk marinade before searing. You may also add 1 to 2 tablespoons of Marsala wine to the soup mix(depending on your taste). Instead of chopping the onions, slice them. It provides a good presentation and kids can remove them easier if they want. The jerk seasoning will add some spice, but mostly flavor since the soup will take care of a lot of the heat from the jerk rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was really good with a few tweaks. I seasoned both the pork and the potatoes with a mixture of rosemary and paprika. I found I only had to cook it for 45 minutes as I sliced the potatoes quite thinly. I really enjoyed eating this and so did hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
Made this one tonight and it was a hit. The kids loved it, and my fiancee was too busy eating to join in the conversations. I added minced fresh garlic to the onions, and used the roasted garlic cream of mushroom soup. I was a little worried that I wouldn't have enough sauce, so I added a little more milk, a splash of chicken broth, and a couple tablespoons of sour cream. I added some basil to the sauce, due to other reviwers saying it was too bland, but would omit the basil next time as it did not seem to make it better. I also left out the cheese, as I thought it would make it too greasy. The kids are picky, so its always good to have them tell me dinner was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Little Canada, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States