Pork Chop and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
This recipe got good reviews. I made it tonight. It didn't turn out like it was supposed to. Other than adding some seasonings, I followed the recipe exactly. After about 45 minutes, my pork chops were done, but the potato/onion mixture was a soupy mess, and the potatoes weren't done (and they were sliced thin). I had to remove the pork chops and return it to the oven for another 20 minutes. I returned the pork chops and added the cheese and put back in the oven to let the cheese melt. This reminded me of a recipe my dad tried years ago from a magazine. It was called Poor Man's Steak. Same concept sliced potatoes, onions, and meat. Except the meat was raw hamburger, and the soup was added without the milk. This dish tasted good enough to try again, but next time, I will not add the milk...just an additional can of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Made this for supper last night. It was really tasty. I did saute the onions before adding to the potatoes. I poured half of the sauce over the potatoes added the pork chops then poured the rest of the sauce over the chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I used thinner chops for this recipe, which I sprinkled with lots of garlic powder, seasoned salt and pepper while searing. Used an entire chopped onion and cooked covered for the first 30 minutes. Added french fried onions with the cheese. Delish and thank you, WANTU.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
My whole family LOVED this recipe! The only thing I changed was that I used French Fried Onions instead of regular onions. They turned out scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Capac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
We enjoyed this dish very much. I bried the pork chops for 45 minutes, then salted each row of potatoes. I mixed up the cheese with cheddar and mozzerella. I wanted to add garlic to the onion mixture that I fried after I fried the pork chops, but I forgot. I'll do that next time. Great recipe, we will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I made this for dinner tinight & it was delicious. The only change I made was to add chopped garlic with the onion. I also baked it for 30 minutes, added the cheese @ put it under the grill until it was brown. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I made this for the first time over the weekend and added my own spin to it ( spices & such) it turned out great except i used thick cut pork chops and they needed a little more cook time. but all in all everyone really liked it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by markgrant69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This was really good with a few tweaks. I seasoned both the pork and the potatoes with a mixture of rosemary and paprika. I found I only had to cook it for 45 minutes as I sliced the potatoes quite thinly. I really enjoyed eating this and so did hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
Not so crazy about this. Needs more spice or zip. Maybe hot sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lanham, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
While I was hesitant about putting cheese on a pork chop, this recipe was excellent. I subsituted cream of celery soup for cream of mushroom. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States