Pork Chop and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by JMT
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
We followed the recipe except we were out of onions. We substituted onion flakes instead. When it came out of the oven, it looked wonderful. However, the pork chops were so tough I couldn't cut mine at all. Although we cut the potatoes thin with a mandolin, they were not done after an hour. I covered it all again, added more milk for some moisture, and baked it 1/2 hour longer. The potatoes were then done, and they were wonderful. I think it would be better if there was enough sauce to cover the pork chops. Covering with foil wasn't enough. We will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Easy and very good. I did put salt, pepper and garlic powder on chops before browning. Added some salt and pepper to potatoes also. Husband asked me to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
My mother made this recipe for us when I was growing up, she called it "Good John", or something like that. The only difference is she put french fried onions on top, no cheese, and plenty of black pepper. Now I make it for my family and everyone loves it. A definite family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Luverne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
I think the basic of this recipe was ok - but it definitely needed more flavour. I salt and peppered meat and the potatoes. I also added some old bay and fresh rosmary to the potatoes. Overall my family liked the it, but I was unhappy with the consistency of the sauce. Definitely should have added a few tablespoons of flour to the soup/ milk to make it thicker. It is a nice base to build from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was amazing. We loved it. Very easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
It was ok!!! U mos def..have to season the pork chops good....it will make a great difference....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovecats420

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
i tried this for dinner last night and it was such a hit he took leftovers for his lunch next time i will use less liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scooter Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
After some revisions this was fantastic! My fiance loved this and went back for seconds. I thinly sliced the potatoes and seasoned them when Lawry's season salt, pepper, garlic powder & onions. I did 2 layers of this & seasoned both layers. I seasoned pork with salt & pepper & put in flour (which I added pepper, season salt, & garlic poweder to the flour). I seared on both sides. Put pork on potatoes & then added the cream of mushroom & milk. First 30 min I covered dish. I then added french's fried onions, cheese, & bake uncovered for 30 min. This turned out so flavorful & the pork was very moist. You have to season this one & it's definitely very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
sounded good. looked and smelled great. tasted blah. no flavor to pork at all. potatoes just ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
didn't like it at all. Potatoes were barely cooked at 1 hr 15 mins and pork was on the verge of being over done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States