Pork Chop and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
At my boyfriend's request, I made this without ever having it before, and I must say, this is such an easy yet delicious and filling recipe! The only thing I did differently was that I used EVOO and cut up three to four (nibbling was involved) large pork chops into strips versus full chops. (He farm raises pork, so they were bone-in, *large* chops.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Churchville, Virginia, USA
Photo by carl48ca
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Very good easy to make with a few changes,really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Good base recipe that is easy to tweak to your personal tastes. I like to add a layer of sliced apples for just a bit of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barney, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This dish is AWSOME. I can't make it too often because I love it a little too much but I pull it out for special occasions and it just might make it to my thanksgiving table....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Great recipe. I did tweak it a bit. I added fresh mushrooms, garlic and baby carrots. Also seasoned the potatoes with pepper garlic and adobo Goya. Added some Parmesan cheese and cheddar cheeses the last 30 minutes of cooking and I did cover with foil the whole hour I cooked it. I cooked at 350 degrees for an hour and it was very tasteful and moist. Nothing dry about it. To the soup mix I also seasoned it a bit with red pepper and adobo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
So good!! Absolutely delicious. Here's what I did: sliced the potatoes very thin, then chopped an onion. Put the onion in the pan with 3 fresh pressed garlic cloves and the pork chops (I used 4 with bone-in), topped everything with seasoning salt. Once the pork chops were browned, lined my baking dish with foil and a little butter, mixed the potatoes in the same pan as the onion and the juices left from the pork chops, then put the potatoes/onions in the baking dish and topped with the chops and soup mix. At about 25m of baking, topped with lots of cheddar cheese and a few shakes from parmesan container. At 50m in the oven, everything was cooked perfectly. Potatoes had no bite left and the pork chops were still moist. I think the trick to keeping the pork chops moist is not over-browning and keeping the bone in, because the chops were just right and they were only about 1" thick. Great recipe. My dad, who is the king of scalloped potatoes and pork chops, loved this meal (he's a tough critic), and so did everyone else who ate it. Hard to believe you can do it all in one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
This recipe is delicious, but i added fresh cut up garlic about 2 to 3 cloves and onions after i brown the chops to the same pan with cooking spray on top of the pork chops, then i use 2 cans of cream of mushroom with 1 1/2 cups of milk with some seasoning salt and pepper and garlic powder it's also good without cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya Hand
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JMT
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
We followed the recipe except we were out of onions. We substituted onion flakes instead. When it came out of the oven, it looked wonderful. However, the pork chops were so tough I couldn't cut mine at all. Although we cut the potatoes thin with a mandolin, they were not done after an hour. I covered it all again, added more milk for some moisture, and baked it 1/2 hour longer. The potatoes were then done, and they were wonderful. I think it would be better if there was enough sauce to cover the pork chops. Covering with foil wasn't enough. We will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
Easy and very good. I did put salt, pepper and garlic powder on chops before browning. Added some salt and pepper to potatoes also. Husband asked me to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
My mother made this recipe for us when I was growing up, she called it "Good John", or something like that. The only difference is she put french fried onions on top, no cheese, and plenty of black pepper. Now I make it for my family and everyone loves it. A definite family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Luverne, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States