Pork Chop and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Sliced potatoes very thin (using Pampered Chef slicer). I recommend using Campbell's Golden Mushroom soup. Delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
This was great with the few minor changes I made. I used 4 potatoes and sliced them fairly thin- about what you would for scalloped potatoes. Then I used about a cup of chopped onion. I sliced up 3 boneless porkchops I had and then browned them in olive oil and garlic with lots of fresh ground pepper & garlic salt, took them out, and then threw the potatoes and onions in next, again adding pepper & salt. I put the potatoes & onions on the bottom of the casserole dish then the pork, then the soup mixture. Covered with foil, baked for 30 min, added more garlic salt, salt, pepper & a bit of cayenne pepper, and the cheese, recovered and baked for 25 more min. Delish! My husband loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huntersmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
For the 108th time, this recipe is dull with no changes. I used a Pork Lion and sliced it into 6 servings seasoned it well then sliced and seasoned Onions and Yukon Gold Potatoes. Using the suggestions of others, I sautéed my potatoes/onions which were already thin and it caused them to be overcooked in the finished dish. Overall I like the meal-in-one idea and the pork was very tender; my only problem was overdone potatoes. I would recommend trying this dish only if you have ingredients on hand and most importantly SEASON YOUR PORK/POTATOS/ONIONS prior to cooking(I used a combo of garlic powder w/ parsley, red pepper and salt)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Mixed reviews on this one. You need to make sure you layer your potatoes in a single layer or at least pre cook them. Some of my potatoes were perfectly cooked and others were still raw. Other than that my husband and I thought it tasted very good. My parents thought it was rather bland. I will try this again maybe using a lot more seasoning and pre cooking the potatoes first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I added salt, pepper and a little garlic salt and I diced the potates instead of slicing them. Next time I will double the soup and milk to make more gravy to pour over the meat and potatoes. But very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newivi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This was really tasty and soooo easy to put together! I made exactly as directed with one exception - I just couldn't put cheese on top of a pork chop. It didn't matter though - the pork was tender and the potatoes were cooked perfectly (I used a mandolin to slice them thin). Don't forget to season at every step w/ s&p (on the potatoes when you put them in and on the pork before you brown them). Great recipe - even without the cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYBOWES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I really liked this one. I changed a lot of things to fit my world and how it runs, but it turned out really great. I diced the potatoes...easier for my girls to eat. And I sprinkled some of that "potato steamers" seasoning on them, and some mozzarella before I layered the rest on...so mine wasn't bland at all, it came out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
Even with the modifications others suggested, this was extremely bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACAMRON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
My family LOVED this recipe! There were no left overs. This is definitely one that will stay in our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This was simple and tasty...my hubby is not much for casseroles, but he loved this one!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States