Pork Chop and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
I tried this recipe out and it was really great! I sauteed some onions & garlic (just a little), seasoned up the pork chops and cooked them fully. I cooked the sliced potatoes seperately only to give them some color and when they were about done, I mixed the chops & taters together, added cream of mushroom and cream of chicken soup (two cans each, we have a very large family) and heated it through. It was GREAT and there were no left-overs for the next day. Even my picky son ate two servings!! Don't try this recipe without first seasoning the chops and adding a little seasoning to the potatoes, too; otherwise it will be way too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I'm sorry but we did not like this at all. The pork was bland and there was no flavor with the potatoes at all. I don't think that I could give a true rating if I was going to change everything and add a ton of spices. As written...too bland, but tinkering with spices your family likes will definately help with flavor. I won't be making as written, but would try again with lots of spices. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
Yum! This is very close to a recipe I grew up with, baked by my mom. She used to add about 1 tbl. of caraway seed to it. :) Now, I add the caraway and a layer of thinly sliced onions, too. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
This was so good! My husband and kids loved it. The meat was very tender and the potatoes tasty. I added garlic powder, salt, pepper and onions and had it with fresh green beans. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
I seared my chops first with a good helping of onions and placed the mixture into my slow cooker along with garlic roasted mushroom soup and a lot more seasonings. Good base recipe but I think without the additons it would have been too bland for my gang. Thanks for a good start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2001
My husband, a meat and potatoes guy, loves this dish. I sprinkle a little onion soup mix over the potatoes before adding the cream soup. I usually make only two chops and the potatoes have room to brown nicely where they touch the pan. Gourmet it's not, just down-home good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
The only thing I changed with this recipe was I rubbed the chops with orgeno, salt and pepper. The I spinkled them with garlic powder when they were cooking. I also added more potatoes since I used 6 pork chops and I used 2 cans of mushrooms soup. This was SO GOOD! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovethislife!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
I took the advice of others and carmalized some onions, then added garlic along with the chops to the skillet. I also added a couple shakes of beef bouillon granuals to the soup. This meal was not only handy in a "quick fix" way, but it was tasty as well. It did the trick for my fam. The chops came out tender enough to cut with a butter knife, great served with fresh steamed green beans. Thanks Valkyrja!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
The *** I gave this was mostly my fault... Here's what I did: I sprinkled the pork chops with seasoning salt, garlic powder, and Italian seasoning before browning them with some chopped onion. To the soup, I added garlic powder, Italian seasoning, and chives. Now, here is where I probably made the mistake: Per previous comments, I wanted to make sure there was enough sauce, so I added a small can of evaporated milk. DO NOT ADD EVAPORATED MILK!! My potatoes ended up sticking to the bottom of the pan so bad that I was scraping overcooked/almost-burnt potato chunks out. The potatoes ended up tasting GREAT (even the overcooked, scraped-out bits!), but the chops didn't come out so well. My daughter ate some of the chops but both my husband and I were really not thrilled with the chops. They were really dry. Again, probably my fault. Next time, I'll either use the original recipe (plus seasonings) in the slow cooker or I'll just cook the potatoes in the soup and prepare the chops separately. Thanks for an interesting base recipe! *** UPDATED 12/14/05 - Made it again without the milk, same stuck-to-the-pan end. Must be my pan. It's easy and convenient, the taste is fine (once you spice up a regular can of soup)... But the chops weren't great and the baked-on factor means I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I seasoned chops with salt, pepper, and oregano. Cooking onions in pan with pork chops (after chops are lightly browned) and using Progresso (uncondensed) mushroom soup made dish much more flavorful. Delicious, really.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States