Pork Chop and Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
This recipe was really horrible. I followed all the instruction without changing a thing. It was bland, mushy and I will never make it again. So sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I made the recipe exactly as listed and it was just OK. I was surprised that the potatoes ended up mushy (almost like mashed potatoes) but the soup got mostly absorbed so there wasn't the creamy sauce I expected. If I make it again, I will add some water and shorten the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This has become a family favorite. I do add dry onion soup mix and sometimes saute some onions and garlic. It is a easy delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
I made this recipe today for my wife and I. I used 1" thick boneless sirloin chops and browned them very well in a hot skillet. They came out tender and juicy and we both loved the potatoes which were cooked perfectly. I added a little chopped onion and about a 1/2 cup of chopped celery. Very good and tasty. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Everyone I have made this for has loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Reed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sutton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Ayer, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
I give this a 5 just for the ease of it. You should have no problem seasoning this dish to your families taste. If you look at the ingredients as written, you should be able to tell if you would want more spices in it. Some people dont over season their food, if they season at all.. I'm sure the soup mix would be sufficient for flavor to someone who just throws the chops (or whatever you're cooking) in the oven and bake them plain, as I have seen many do. My mother included. Anyway, I just put the chops (without browning) or potatoes, which ever I have ready first in the pan followed by the other. Whip up the soup mix, adding garlic, pepper, or whatever I feel like putting in that night. Pour it over the chops and potatoes and bake. Simple, quick and delicious. The whole family loved it. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lou Shultz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Republic, Ohio, USA
Living In: Burgoon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
I tried this last night. I browned the chops with masala powder for a kick, sauted onions, garlic and 1 chilli together with some red bell peppers and the soup and baked covered. Chops were tender and the chilli and masala was a nice kick. Will be making again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This is actually a very good recipe if done right. First you would want to use a more fatty pork steak versus pork chop (this helps not only the flavor of the dish, but the flavor of the meat.) Before frying the pork, you need to coat it with flour. Then on med. high heat you brown the pork steak. Season with salt, pepper, and granulated garlic to taste. Make sure you just brown the meat on both sides, as it will finish cooking in the oven. Slice your potatoes fairly thin (russet potatoes are best) as this will decrease your cooking time and your pork will not get too dry. Place potatoes in a prepared 13x9x2 cooking dish (spray with cooking spray.) By the way, this takes 6-8 large potatoes and 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup mixed with 1 can of milk or evaporated milk. Pour soup over potatoes, making sure to cover potatoes thoroughly. Save enough soup to pour over pork. Place pork on top of potatoes and pour just enough soup down the middle of each pork steak, (do not smother.) Cover with foil and bake at 375 for 35 to 45 minutes, or until juices run clear of meat and potatoes are tender. Green beans any way, shape, or form are an excellent side dish for this meal. I hope you enjoy this as much as my family and I do. My mom started making this dish for me when I was a little girl. I am now 50 years old and enjoy it now as much as I did then, and so does my family and friends. Thanks, Kim's Korner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
DH loved this casserole! I thought it was ok. I did season the chops with salt, pepper, and a little garlic powder. Also added two slices of onion. Next time I may brown the chops a little more and carmelize the onions for a little more flavor. Make sure to turn down the heat to low or medium low after adding the potatoes and soup. Both were deliciously tender after 45 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
thank you for sharing. I love it. I do season up the pork before cook it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chen Chang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chop and Potato Casserole

A simple, delicious hearty meal!

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Twice Baked Potato Casserole with Bacon

Potatoes, bacon, cheese...need we say more?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States