Pork Chop and Cabbage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
We did not care for this at all. There are so many more flavorful dishes you can create with pork chops and cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
This was the perfect dinner for our first cold Fall day here in Ohio. I only made a few small modifications: I shredded half of the cabbage and chopped the other, only because my food processor shreds really small. I also did 1/4 can milk and 1/4 can water instead of just water. Baked for one hour uncovered and covered for the last 30 minutes and it was delicious!! Hubby loved it and even my picky 8 year old had to admit it was really good! I will be making this many times through the fall and winter. Thanks so much for sharing Michele.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I was really excited when I ran across this recipe. I love cabbage and pork chops, but I was so disappointed. It was so bland. I even tried to spice it up with layering the salt and pepper as other reviewers had suggested, but it didn't help. My husband didn't like it either, but he's not a big fan of cabbage so that didn't really surprise me. I won't be making this again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was simple and tasty! I used cream of mushroom soup. Sorry but cream of chicken's just kind of nasty. Turned out great. I recommend using a little salt and pepper on the pork chops. I pulled it out like 15 min early because I was afraid the meat would be tough. Glad I did that. I don't think it needs to cook quite so long. I also recommend using the deepest 9x13 baking dish you have. It's a pretty tall casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was a great, easy meal to make after a day of work. I would make sure to pour the soup over the pork chops, but I wouldn't cover it again. It made the cabbage and potatoes very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chico, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I was a bit leery about this one but I tried it and it was delicious. The only modifications that I made was using cream of mushroom soup (didn't have chicken soup) instead of chicken and one cup of chicken broth instread of water. Amazingly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pakenham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
We enjoyed this. I covered with it with foil for 1 hour and cooked it for another 10 minutes to let it brown a litte, and the pork chops were very moist and tender. I added salt and pepper to taste, but might add a little rosemary next time. I used cole slaw mix with carrots instead of just cabbage as a short cut and to add some color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Made this for the first time last night and we liked it. My baking dish was overflowing so I covered it in foil and placed it on a cookie sheet while baking. I only cooked this for 1 hour and the pork chops came out perfect! My fiance said it was a little bland (though he over salts everything). I think I will add a bit more salt and experiment with spices next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Delicious. I had to make a few changes, only because of what I had on hand. Changes - I used sliced red potatoes and bone-in pork chops. Other than that, I stayed pretty much true to the recipe. I put all the cabbage on the bottom, topped with the potatoes, poured the simmered soup, water, and onions over and then topped with the browned pork chops. I added salt only on the top of the chops. It didn't need anymore. Delicious. I got my husband to eat some veggies by putting in the cabbage. It didn't taste like cabbage at all, really. The cabbage just blended in with the potatoes and had no bad cabbage bite at all. A mellow cabbage, soft, hardly noticed at all by my vegetable-phobic husband. This was so good. I ate two bowls of the pots and cabbage. The juice is excellent. I added some rice on hubs presentation plate....soaked up those savory juices, so exellent and tasty. Yum yum! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
3 as is, but if you season it could be a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States