Pork Chop and Cabbage Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Delicious. I had to make a few changes, only because of what I had on hand. Changes - I used sliced red potatoes and bone-in pork chops. Other than that, I stayed pretty much true to the recipe. I put all the cabbage on the bottom, topped with the potatoes, poured the simmered soup, water, and onions over and then topped with the browned pork chops. I added salt only on the top of the chops. It didn't need anymore. Delicious. I got my husband to eat some veggies by putting in the cabbage. It didn't taste like cabbage at all, really. The cabbage just blended in with the potatoes and had no bad cabbage bite at all. A mellow cabbage, soft, hardly noticed at all by my vegetable-phobic husband. This was so good. I ate two bowls of the pots and cabbage. The juice is excellent. I added some rice on hubs presentation plate....soaked up those savory juices, so exellent and tasty. Yum yum! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
3 as is, but if you season it could be a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Delicious. I cover the dish for most of the cooking, only removing the foil to brown the chops at the very end. This keeps them moist. The whole family likes this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
okay, this was very good. I used Cream of mushroom soup since it was what i had on hand and i salt and peppered the top cabbage layer before pouring the sauce. I used olive oil to brown the chops. I only had them in the pan for a couple minutes for each side so when they cooked in the casserole there would still be plenty of juice and they would not dry out. No need to cover the dish while baking. I also seasoned the chop with salt and pepper while browning. It was a very good recipe and my husband was very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Ft Campbell, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This recipe was a nice change from our usual pork chop dinner. Next time I make this recipe I would like to layer cabbage,mashed potatoes and repeat. I love mashed potatoes with cabbage and pork chops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of two:)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mayfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This was ok. Very filling. next time will use to cans of soup and milk in place of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This was good. I followed directions, salt and peppering the cabbage and pork to my taste. Covered the dish to back the whole time. Pork was tender and the cabbage and potatoes were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Very good all in one kinda of meal. Tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This was very good. My children and husband liked it. I too changed the water to milk in the soup, seasoned each layer and added green bell pepper. With many noting the pork chops as tough, I added them on top of the casserole after 45 mins. Pork chops were moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was great! It is a very comforting and satisfying dish. I followed the advice of some other reviewers, and I used a can of cream of mushroom soup, in addition to the cream of chicken soup. I used boneless, thin cut pork chops. I seasoned the pork chops with garlic and pepper. I sprinkled some caraway seeds on the second layer of cabbage. I had never used caraway seeds before, so this was a neat recipe for trying them out. This really gave it a great flavor! I poured some of the sauce on top of the pork chops, too, to make sure they would be moist. I covered the dish with foil for the last 45 minutes of cooking time. We loved it. I would make this, again. Goes nicely with a beer, too, and (though I don't know if this is an Irish dish)I felt like I was having some nice Irish pub fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States