Pork Chop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was FABULOUS! I made some slight variations but didn't change too much: I thought it would make a better stew than a soup, so I only used 1 - 1/2 cups of chicken broth rather than 3 cups. Also, I used bok choy instead of broccoli. I love broccoli but it has such a strong flavor on its own and I thought this recipe could use something more subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Very good soup! Easy to make. My son and husband ate it all.Pssst... I had 3 bowls myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jscpsb2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I thought it was great! I added a few spices to mine like greek seasoning & hot pepper. Before serving I added fetta cheese and sour cream instead of making the rou! It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Fantastic! I usually make "Ultimate Spicy Spud Soup" from this site when I'm feeling overwintered. but I was sick of it and I had broccoli and decided to try this. It is really great. The taste is soup (very celery tasting, which I like.) But the texture is stew so I added more water. Changes: More spices, cause I like that. Also threw in some green beans and pretty much any leftover veggie I had. Also, I used all chicken stock and only used water to bring it to a consistency I liked. Good as is though. It's going into rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was wonderfull. I didnt add as much flour because I didnt want it that thick but the flavor is yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
So GOOD! I wish I had made a double batch. I did use 4 pork chops instead of 2 (they were kind of thin cut) I also doubled the broccoli and halved the potato. EDIT: I have made this soup many times now so I wanted to add to my review. I now use the full amount of potato but have increased the chicken stock and water by 1 cup each. I start with the called-for amount of each spice then add according to taste after the first boil. Celery salt makes a good addition. I still double the broccoli but I hold half of it out and right before I serve the soup I flash-steam it for about 2-3 minutes in the microwave then add it to the soup. That bright green of the broccoli makes the soup look extra appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGNESS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Wonderful! I used leftover pork chops - but followed the directions. Added extra leftover vegetables, chicken buillon with the water and omited flour. I will definately save this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Very good. I slow roasted the pork in the oven before adding to the soup to develop the flavor. I omitted the flour and used green beans instead of broccoli. Will make again on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
WOW this was fantastic! I followed the recipe and only made one change, I added garlic. We LOVED this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Love the soup. It's a little salty though. I'll probably either cut back the salt or make sure to get low sodium chicken broth. I browned two Costco center cut pork chops cut into pieces in some olive oil and a clove of chopped garlic. Then, I added the rest of the ingredients as suggested. After around 45 minutes I put the veggies in. I didn't use the flour either. I usually like a thicker texture, but it was great without it this time. Oh, I didn't use broccoli, didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephoney
Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States