Pork Chop Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I agree that you could omit the salt. I made a very quick version by using leftover pulled pork from a crock pot recipe. I just threw everything in together and cut the carrot thinly and used leftover baked potato. I also omitted the broccoli and added a bunch of torn kale leaves in the last 5 minutes. I brought the mixture to a boil and then simmered for abut 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
It was delicious with these changes. I made a large batch to freeze, so did not use potatoes (don't freeze well). I substituted white beans instead. I tripled the meat and doubled everything else. I cut the pork chops into bite size pieces, then browned them in some olive oil. I set the meat aside and then then I sautéed some mushrooms, then lightly sautéed the rest of the veggies (except the broccoli). I then removed most of the veggies so I could deglaze the pan with low sodium chicken broth. Replaced the water with low sodium chicken broth, and used low sodium soy sauce. Added everything back to the pot and let simmer for an hour. I skipped the flour, it was thick enough without it. I hate mushy broccoli so I added it at the end and let it simmer for another 10 minutes. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I alter the recipe leaving out ingredients my family does not like. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
made it twice. First time used chick peas and rice instead of potatoes and flour, was awesome, 2nd time used zucchini and kale instead of broccoli. Really good, don't think it really needs the flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Made this according to the recipe but I just didn't like it. My family ate it but no one was impressed. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was so good.. alittle. On the spicy side but I liked the spice...Ill be making this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This was really tasty...I didn't have potatoes but input everything in the crock pot and cooked on low for about 5 hours (pork chops were already cooked). I think the main idea is that it's a great recipe to customize to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
Tried this last night and loved it. I left out the oregano (simply missed it in the list) and doubled the veggies, spices and liquid. Even better today! I cut my potatoes in bigger chunks so they wouldn't cook to mush. I used chopped garlic instead of garlic powder. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I seasoned the chops, browned in a skillet, cut back on salt,eliminated the potato and added some diced tomatoes with jalapeno!That made a difference.Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Breden

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
My nephew and I love, love this soup. I always make it the morning after we have pork chops so I can use up the leftover pork. It's just so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make traditional Chinese wonton soup.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States