Pork Chop Skillet Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is good...but I think the next time I make it, I'll use boneless pork chops. The rice was delicious and had a great flavor - I would never have thought of orange juice and chicken stock for cooking liquid, but it was just right. We had this for dinner with broccoli, French bread and a spinach salad - delicious and filling, and most importantly, very very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I changed this quite a bit according to what I had on hand: instead of one cup of orange juice, I used the juice from a can of mandarin oranges, some white wine, and some water; I also used roasted garlic chicken broth; and I added frozen french-cut green beans and mandarin oranges at the end. I also removed the chops after browning and sauteed the rice and onions together before adding the liquid and then returning the chops to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
It was pretty bland. I would only make this again with some kind of modification for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
After reading the other reviews about this being bland I added 1/8 tsp. crushed rosemary, 1/4 tsp. oregano and 2 tsp. light brown sugar. I found it to be very tasty. I used a pork tenderloin cut into medallions (seasoned with garlic pepper before searing) but found that the amount of rice was too much. Next time I will cut down on the amount of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
After reading all the reviews I thought uhoh I should have read these before so I looked in my pantry and found a Lipton Savory Herb and Garlic soup mix and I mixed that in the Chicken broth along with the orange juice and the rice was wonderful. I bought some expensive chops and I was disppointed they came out dry and tough. Since I made the changes I only used 2 chops afraid to ruin 4 expensive chops. All in all I think the dish was good I would make the rice again but use dark meat chicken or turkey. I also thought about using onion soup mix which I had but went for the Savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made this last night and it was a big hit, we all loved it. We did add a little soy sauce to the pork chops when served. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glyndas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sealy, Texas, USA
Living In: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Excellent. Loved the rice with onion and OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Yum! My whole family enjoyed this easy to prepare meal, and this will become a regular dinner option for us. I might add just a tad less orange juice next time, as it was a little too citrus-y. Other than that, this was a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Used low sodium broth. Did not use orange slices as my family does not like fruit on their meat. Used cooking spray instead of oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
The was fantastic! My pork chops did dry out a bit, so if I had to make any suggestions, it would be to remove the chops to a plate after browning and about 10 minutes before the rice is finished, put them back in the skillet to cook a little longer and rewarm. The rice tasted absolutely wonderful. I'll be making this one again, for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ruskin, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States