Pork Chop Skillet Dinner Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
This is good...but I think the next time I make it, I'll use boneless pork chops. The rice was delicious and had a great flavor - I would never have thought of orange juice and chicken stock for cooking liquid, but it was just right. We had this for dinner with broccoli, French bread and a spinach salad - delicious and filling, and most importantly, very very good. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medical Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I changed this quite a bit according to what I had on hand: instead of one cup of orange juice, I used the juice from a can of mandarin oranges, some white wine, and some water; I also used roasted garlic chicken broth; and I added frozen french-cut green beans and mandarin oranges at the end. I also removed the chops after browning and sauteed the rice and onions together before adding the liquid and then returning the chops to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
It was pretty bland. I would only make this again with some kind of modification for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
After reading the other reviews about this being bland I added 1/8 tsp. crushed rosemary, 1/4 tsp. oregano and 2 tsp. light brown sugar. I found it to be very tasty. I used a pork tenderloin cut into medallions (seasoned with garlic pepper before searing) but found that the amount of rice was too much. Next time I will cut down on the amount of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
After reading all the reviews I thought uhoh I should have read these before so I looked in my pantry and found a Lipton Savory Herb and Garlic soup mix and I mixed that in the Chicken broth along with the orange juice and the rice was wonderful. I bought some expensive chops and I was disppointed they came out dry and tough. Since I made the changes I only used 2 chops afraid to ruin 4 expensive chops. All in all I think the dish was good I would make the rice again but use dark meat chicken or turkey. I also thought about using onion soup mix which I had but went for the Savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made this last night and it was a big hit, we all loved it. We did add a little soy sauce to the pork chops when served. I will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glyndas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sealy, Texas, USA
Living In: Glenwood Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Excellent. Loved the rice with onion and OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Yum! My whole family enjoyed this easy to prepare meal, and this will become a regular dinner option for us. I might add just a tad less orange juice next time, as it was a little too citrus-y. Other than that, this was a wonderful meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
Used low sodium broth. Did not use orange slices as my family does not like fruit on their meat. Used cooking spray instead of oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
The was fantastic! My pork chops did dry out a bit, so if I had to make any suggestions, it would be to remove the chops to a plate after browning and about 10 minutes before the rice is finished, put them back in the skillet to cook a little longer and rewarm. The rice tasted absolutely wonderful. I'll be making this one again, for sure! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ruskin, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States