Pork Chop Pileups Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Replying to a request for suggestions to make this more tasty, try seasoning the chops and browning them until dark brown and then continuing. One could also try putting the potatoe layer at the bottom so it cooks quicker and seasoning each layer with salt, pepper, garlic, etc. I would also try frying onions in the browned drippings with salt and a tbsp of water. And frozen beans would be more fresh tasting than canned ones... bon apetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
Oh my gosh! I have never tasted such tender pork chops. I didn't even know it was possible for them to get that tender!! First, I browned the meat in butter and seasoning salt, and then I sprayed the dish with nonstick oil. I layered the potatoes with a few pats of butter, chops, green beans, and the soup mixture. Each layer I spiced with onion powder, garlic powder, and salt and pepper. My boyfriend loved it, even though he normally hates casseroles!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
We actually cut the recipe in half (except the potatoes) because it is just my husband and I. Reading other reviews about lack of taste I made the following adjustments; Used Campbell's Cream of Chicken with Herbs, onion powder in place of onions (husband dislikes onions) and used FRESH GROUND pepper. I also layered the potatoes on the bottom. Next time I would add a tbsp or two of butter with the potatoes. WE WILL MAKE THIS AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpmcminn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
I should add a review here, since I gave this recipe 5 stars the first time I made it (I've since made it another 3 or 4 times). It is very quick and simple to make, which is something I value greatly when I am short on time or ideas; 15 minutes of preparation time, and then I can just pop it in the oven for an hour and go on with whatever else I have to do. My entire family and I just love these pileups. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I was a little leary of tossing all this together, but it was excellent. Good comfort food, and easy. Having a mandoline to slice the potatoes was a real plus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This is fast and my husband rated this at a four. I rate it at a five because ist is so easy. I did brown and season my pork chops first, but that is the only change and they came out perfect,I used a mandolyn to slice the potatoes and baked for one hour everything was done to perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardena, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Terrific and easy! Have made this twice now. After reading the reviews, I made sure to cut the potatoes thin (scalloped-like), and I also made the chops thin to ensure they would cook. I added more potatoes, too, to make sure it would stretch for many adults. The final touch for us was sprinkling Club House's "Parmesan and Herbs" on top when it is served for that extra little something. Mmmmm! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Rossburn, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Very good, quick recipe! I thought it was good the way it was, however noticed previous reviews complaining about it being bland...a suggestion is to add the French's Onions in place of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2004
This was VERY good!! I didn't have the cream of mushroom soup so I used cream of chicken instead and just added a small can of mushrooms (drained). I also used two cans of greenbeans and about 4 or 5 average size red potatoes (unpeeled). We really liked this, the pork chops were very tender. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
I thought this was wonderful, and my family loved it. I had 4 huge chops which pretty much filled the 9 x 12 pan. I had to use 1 can mushroom and 1 can of cream of celery since that was all I had. I also browned the chops first before putting them in the baking pan. I baked mine 1 hr 20 min, testing with a thermometer since they were thick chops. When I took off the foil I covered the whole thing with french fried onions and slid it back in the oven for 5 more min. (Just like green bean casserole on top!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kittycat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Thick pork chops bake with bread stuffing and cream of mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States