Pork Chop Packs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
The potatoes never softened! Based on other reviews, I cut the sweet potatoes thin, put them on the bottom of the pack (so the juices would surround them), and made sure they were in a single layer. Too bad, because it would otherwise be a great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHEFEEYORE
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I've always used Russet potatoes with this recipe since I discovered it 2-3 years ago and usually never added onions because I never had one on hand when I was fixing it. But tonight I decided to dice up some onions and toss in a few pinches of onions with my potatoes. I have always cooked it on 375* it only takes about 5-10 minutes off cook time. So its about 35-40 minutes depending the size of pork chop. I buy what's on sale. But its better with a thicker cut because the potatoes take that time to cook and you don't want your chop drying out. I season each layer including my apples. I layer potatoes 1st season, add my pork chop that I've had rub on (unless I marniade it over night)while I prepare the potatoes that I cut in half length wise and then slice thinly. I add cooking spray to the foil then put potatoes down it lessens the potatoes from sticking to the foil. Add the pork chop on top of the potatoes and onions. Then I put thin sliced apples on and sprinkle the apples with apple pie spice or cinnamon. Depending the spice the last 5 minutes it starts to kick in the aroma and really makes the house smell yummy. I don't add anything else except a roll if I use a spice with a kick like chipotle and need something to defuse the spice. Otherwise I just serve the foil packet because its plenty for me. Sometimes I want extra potatoes so I'll slice up an extra potato and season the same as my other potatoes and put in foil packet and cook with the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
this was amazing! of course, i tweaked it a little. i put 5 pork chops in a baking pan and then covered with sweet potatoes. i spread a tiny bit of butter on the tops of the sweet potatoes, then sprinkled with cinnamon. then the onion layer, the Granny Smith apples and then a light dusting of apple pie spice on top. i covered with tinfoil and baked for 1 hour so the sweet potatoes were softened and the apples were almost applesauce. my pork chops were really thin, so they were a bit dry, but i am sure that with a thicker chop they would have been perfect at an hour. i will definitely make this again - its the perfect balance of savory and sweet. and it is the perfect fall dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kodles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was pretty good. It took more like 1.5 hours for everthing to be cooked really well, and we only added a little pat of butter to the packets once done... no salt! Very yummy comfort meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Everyone loved these i sprinkled a little adobo on top of my pork chops before layering on the onion apples and sweet potato. Everyone is requesting them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by desii

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
These were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
If you could have more than 5 stars-that would be my rating. This was delicious. I doubled the foil, cook a little longer than 45 minutes and spinkled light brown sugar on top of the potatoes and covered and placed tham back in the toaster oven (which had been turned off) just to let the sugar melt and seep through. For a dish with no seasonngs at all, this was quick, superb, tender and all good things you could say about food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
This basic recipe is easy to make, and all it needs is a little help in the seasoning department. I did add salt and pepper, as well as cinnamon on the sweet potatoes and apples, then rubbed the chops with sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
Came out very dry (it was sealed) and not very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Not good. Flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States