Pork Chile Rojo (Pulled Pork with Red Chile Sauce) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I've made this twice now and have enjoyed it both times. I used chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (after running the peppers through the mini food processor). They really added the extra kick I was looking for. The pork was great on corn tortillas and then I made enchiladas with mole sauce out of the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferrermartinez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Easy to make! Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
We loved this recipe! Very easy to make and has a wonderful flavor. We substituted some of the water for chicken broth. We ate like a stew the first night and the night day made tacos out of it. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FROMMICHIGAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Muskegon, Michigan, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I tried this recipe with some reservations about the salsa and I was right it just wasn't exactly what I was looking for I may try it again using home made chili sauce instead the kids ate some but not much and my husband ate some as well but no one really commented on it which means it was not all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I made this on the weekend & it was soooooo good ,a true compfort food.I am having company this weekend & I`m going to serve it again.( I froze the leftovers )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Beaverton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Great recipe. I found that by using pork chops it cooked a lot faster. Just cook then cut the pork into small pieces. Next time I'll cook with the salsa a litle longer so it won't be so watery. I premade burriotos with this and cheese. They were gone in no time. An easy after school/work snack. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This was pretty good although my family decided that it needed more kick. I added some cayenne and salt at the end of cooking and will use hot salsa next time. I also refuse to cook anything in a plastic bag -- that cannot be healthy. I cooked everything in a crockpot. I would probably make it again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
Made it for the first time today and it was excellent my family really enjoyed it. I also think this could serve as one heck of a base for a lot of improvisations. I diverged from the recipe in the following ways: I put all the juice from the bag in. I think that made it too liquid unless you strain it at serving time. I think next time I'll try removing the liquid from the tomatoes and use all the juice from the meat. I didn't use a Dutch oven, I put all the ingredients back into the slow cooker while I shredded the beef, brought it to boiling on high and then let it go for an hour on low. I also threw in a small can of green chili peppers since I was using Pace mild salsa. Even with them added I still got compliments from the pepper sensitive folks I have to feed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Amazing dinner prepared in tortillas. And, we are looking forward to serving it along with eggs for breakfast in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
UPDATE: Had leftovers today and they were very yummy! I was worried that the meat would dry out, but it didn't. My bf had leftovers (eaten spooned over tortilla chips - with all the fixins) and also enjoyed it (and he HATES leftovers - lol). Very good! I was skeptical at first... my roast, when taken out of the slow cooker, had a lot of fat on it (which grosses me out!). After I shredded the meat, it was perfect! I followed the directions to a T, except for halving the recipe for my bf and I (I have lots of leftovers for tomorrow and the weekend, even after me having two servings and my bf having 4!!!). Served with soft corn tortillas, shredded lettuce and cheddar cheese, chopped tomatoes, fresh lime and sour cream. Next time, I'll prepare with green salsa or either top each helping with some. This goes particularly well with Spanish rice. Thanks for sharing such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

See how to make an incredibly easy pulled pork recipe in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States