Pork Chile Rojo (Pulled Pork with Red Chile Sauce) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Tried this recipe four days ago. My husband could NOT stop raving about it!!!! He said it was BY FAR the best thing I had made. The only change I made was I cooked the whole thing in a slowcooker and halved the water. A definate must have recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
I had planned to rate this a 3, as it seemed a bit bland to me. But the reheated leftovers were so much better I had to give it another star. This was a solid meal. I'm going to experiment a bit with some more spices, but will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Geez, I hate to be the only one not giving this a stellar rating, but in my opinion this was totally mediocre. It was by no means bad, but was no different in taste that just putting warmed salsa over a decent boston butt. There was nothing complex about the flavors and the meat was no more tender nor delicious than an other cooking method I've tried. ...And with having several more steps before sitting down to eat(cockpot, shred meat, simmer in dutch oven, etc.), I just wasn't impressed. Sorry everyone, I just expected more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
I made a real classic bonehead move with this recipe but happy to now report that it's a recipe that is foolproof! I jumped the gun and put the pork, rotel, salsa, chili powder, onions and water into the crock pot and THEN read the directions a little closer and saw the whole bag set up. OOPS. Since it was too late to undo, I just hoped for the best. I cooked on low for six hours, shredded the pork and put back into the sauce for a little longer. It was dynamite in soft tacos and on nachos. Using all that water made it a little watery and we had to drain quite a bit. But it was delicious once we did that. So the next time I made this, I did the same thing (skipped the bag). It's simple this way and I used just 3/4 c water. After doing this, I think you could probably skip the water altogether and use only the salsa and rotel. Like I said: foolproof recipe and excellent taste! My 10 year old son and his friend called them "the best tacos they'd EVER eaten."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This recipe was great! I didn't use a bag because I didn't have one, I just put everything in a crockpot together and then followed the recipe later. I will cook this meal again! Great with refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
My family was throughly enjoyed this dish. I served with flour and corn tortillas. My fave was the corn, my husband preferred the flour. I also added a can of black olives to the rojo as it was simmering. Otherwise I followed this recipe to the letter Thank you so much for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
This was SO YUMMY and exactly what I was looking for. I just threw everything in the crockpot....much easier! Also, I used one jar of green salsa and one jar of red. It made a TON of extra sauce so I stuck it in the freezer for later :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindi Gundersen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Newhall, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I listened to other reviews and used only one jar of salsa. Other than that, I followed the recipe and the result was delicious! We served this on tortillas like a burrito or taco: messy, but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Made this today for a party and it was excellent. I made a few changes to it. First, I rubbed the pork with a combination of Ancho, and New Mexico chili powder. Second, instead of water in the slow cooker, I used beer. I used drained diced tomatoes and added hatch chilis seperatly. Finally during the final cooking, I added cumin and stuck a whole ancho dried chili in to add some more flavor. As someone else said, fresh lime squeezed over it when you serve it is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Wow - this was so yummy! I halved the recipe and we had more than enough! I shredded it and we made tacos with guacamole, sour cream lettuce and hot sauce! I will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LODOM42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States