Pork Chile Rojo (Pulled Pork with Red Chile Sauce) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
So good my FAM loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
Excellent Taste & Easy Preparation. Used 3.5 lb bone-in pork shoulder roast, 3 tbsp chile powder, 2 tsp Hawaiian Sea Salt, 1 tsp onion powder, 1 tsp garlic powder, and 1 tsp cumin. Cooked in the crock pot for 8 hours. I got home from work and put the roast in the dutch oven, shredded it, added 1 can tomatoes with chiles, 1 16 oz jar of ChiChi's original salsa, and a few ladles of liquid from the crock pot, and then let simmer for a 1/2 hour. Served with refried beans and tortilla chips, my wife & I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I found it blah on the inside, but tasty on the outside of the roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Leavittsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
So Yummy....I tryed it a little different I just put it all in the crock pot and cooked it I never put it in the oven....YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I thought it lacked flavor. I made it as directed. When I found there wasn't much flavor I added cumin, carne asada seasoning, salt, & garlic powder. Later I added some enchilada sauce and that improved the flavor. I think it would be better to nix the bag and the water, add the extra seasonings and the enchilada sauce and cook it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
This dish is good quick and easy but you have to add a little more to give it a lift. acho peppers give it a smokey flavor or chipolte
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Wasn't anything special. Definitely needed salt. The spices did not do anything special for me and did not flavor entire roast, only exterior crust. The salsa was the only special quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
The pork broke down more than I would have liked, so next time I will cook it shorter. Also, I would add a can of chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
Added cumin. Didn't do bag or water. Just put everything in the crock pot and the meat was so tender. Served as shredded pork tacos w/ warm corn tortillas and garnished with cilantro, cojita cheese, and radish slices. Very authentic in flavor and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
After reading some of the other reviews I modified this recipe and it was FABULOUS! I omitted the chili powder, water, salsa & 1 can of tomatoes). Trim the roast and brown with 2 tbl fresh onion & garlic. While browning, season with Knorr Chicken bouillion (I don't measure so start with a little and add as needed). 1 tbls cumin and dried cylantro. Add 1 19oz can of Las Palmas Green Enchilada Sauce and 1 10oz can diced tomatoes. Bring to a boil then cover and cook on low for 3 hours. After 3 hours, skim any fat off the top and cut the roast into chunks. Cover and continue to cook until roast is done. Add Cut potatoes and carrots last 15 minutes. I served this dish with rice. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pork Schnitzel with Dipping Sauce

What's cooking in San Antonio? Heavenly schnitzel with creamy sauce.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Bourbon-Mango Pulled Pork

Mangos star in this spicy, smoky, slightly sweet slow-cooker pulled pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States