Pork Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
This was good, but WAY too much salt. I would probably use half the amount of salt next time. Otherwise, tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
Oh. My. Goodness! This is DELICIOUS! We had to stop ourselves from shoveling it into our mouths straight from the pot! I followed the recipe as it is and it was amazing! I said it was restaurant quality and my MIL said it was better than that. I did rinse the beans before I cooked them and picked out the bad ones. After the 5 hour mark, I increased the heat to high because our evening plans had changed. The pork was ready a couple of hours sooner and still incredibly tender. I saw another review with a complaint of too much salt, but we thought it was seasoned perfectly. We served it on tortillas with tomatoes, onions, jalapeños, shredded cheese, avocado, and sour cream. The next day I tried it on tortilla chips and the chips made it too salty, but it was perfect on flour tortillas. My husband tried it in a bowl and topped it with sour cream and he loved it that way, too. The recipe is easy to follow and it will feed a crowd. If I could give it 10 stars, I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksosbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yale, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Excellent and easy. I followed another reviewer's note after rinsing beans, brought to a boil and let sit until cool. Then mixed in spices, etc. before adding to the pork. I put in crock pot night before and shredded meat the next morning. However, the meat was a somewhat overcooked. Next time I will add more garlic powder and onion as it was a bit bland. thanks for a good, simple recipe and yes, it does make a large quantity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Makes a ton and freezes well. I have made this recipe a couple of times. I usually freeze about half, just let thaw and reheat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I cut this recipe in half and put the mix on rice instead of tortillas. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
Prepared as written and it is great. Very satisfied with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
This was great and soooooo easy. I cut it in half though as it makes a TON! Even cutting it in half--I froze some. I also tried this as enchiladas using recipe from another reviewer and that was great too. I would recommend sticking around to monitor the beans so you can add water, if you use dried beans in this so they don't stick to the bottom of the crockpot. I prefer the dried beans to can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This recipe is perfect exactly as posted. The only problem is that I've made it so many times that I'm getting sick of it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This was so easy and made a TON of food! I ended up cooking it on low for 10 hours and the beans were not total mush, but a good texture. I like salty food, so it was not too salty for me. I did have to scoop out a lot of extra water, but that was not a problem. I served mine in tortillas with cheese, sour cream and mango salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I've made this for years. My recipe only uses 1 tablespoon of salt, I think 2 tablespoons would be terribly salty. I put the dried UNsoaked beans in the crockpot with one more cup of water than this recipe calls for and let them cook overnight. The next morning, I put everything else in and let it cook all day. I also cut the roast into several pieces so that it will cook more evenly. When the meat is fall apart tender, I take it out and pull it apart with two forks. I then take out the beans and put them in the food processor and puree them. I then thicken the wonderful broth and it makes the BEST red "gravy". I put the bean puree, some shredded pork, some cheese and a dribble of the gravy inside of a flour tortilla. Total heaven!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coleen's Recipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States