Pork Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
This was absolutely fantastic!!! Reminded me and my husband of the carnitas at Chipotle. Sooo good, I'll be making this over and over again. Used a pork sirloin roast instead and didn't add last can of chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hubred Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was very good and tasted even better the second day after the flavors had time to meld and settle. For my family, I will cut back on the cumin and chili powder next time. It was a little overpowering for us and made me think of a bowl of chili each time we ate it. Nothing wrong with chili but I was expecting a different flavor. As others mentioned, this made a lot! I was able to freeze some for another time when I need a quick meal. I'm glad I tried this recipe and I will make it again with modifications to please my family. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CGG

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This was pretty good, but my beans did not cook all the way, and none of the water was soaked up. The pork and seasonings turned out well though. Would make again, but use canned beans and no water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
All I can say is YUM. Perfect recipe as is. If it is too liquidy for you just drain. We used corn tortillas which tasted great but fell apart (because this recipe does come out very wet). Do use the flour tortillas, they hold up better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
NOt like any chalupa I ever tasted, bland and dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was alright. I did hold off on adding the salt (and used less) until it was almost done, to avoid the beans staying hard. I added half an onion (diced) to this. Using half beer and half water would probably add more flavour. Only used a half a small can of the chiles. It was pretty bland on it's own. Add some salsa, lightly crushed Fritos and some cheese then you've got something to feel good about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
5 stars for taste but giving 4 stars because I had to cook it in the crockpot for 30 hours before the beans softened up. I soaked them the night before, cooked them on high all day, but they were still hard at dinnertime, so I just kept cooking them. Turned it to Low overnight, then back to High on day 2. By afternoon, the beans had softened and it was delicious for dinner. I will make this again but wanted to make other people with the hard bean problem know to just keep cooking them another day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
watch the salt!!! This is an excellent dish,my family loved it.I always cut the salt in recipes way back-I cut it in half for this one and it was almostt too salty for us...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This was delicious! I think it could be hotter (spicier) but is very good just as it is. I agree with the other reviewers 1 tablespoon of salt is plenty and do not add it until the end (after beans were done and I shredded the pork and returned it to soak together again, then I added the salt).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was unbelievably good. Only change I made was to reduce the salt by half. Served with a side of shredded lettuce, sour cream, homemade salsa, cheese and cilantro. Will be making this again soon. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Florence, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States