Pork Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I don't really know how to cook beans, so I just used two cans of pinto beans, undrained and they worked fine. I also used one can less green chiles than the recipe called for. These were a nice change from regular tacos, but for the price of a pork shoulder I would have rather done something else with it than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was good. I made it with the homemade refried beans in the crockpot. I however will change one thing next time. After I shredded it I followed another reviewers recommendation about throwing it back into the over to crisp it up and I would NOT do that again. I think it destroyed the meat. We started to choke on the meat because it was so dry. Thank goodness I didn't crispup all the meat because I threw out what I did put back in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I have made this several times and the only change I make is to use half the salt called for. One of our favorite meals - thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I scaled to 8 servings and subsituted pork for 3 lb chicken tenderloins. Used 2 cans undrained beans instead of dried. Omit salt! (no water in crock-pot) Chicken shreds easily by simply smashing in crock-pot. Served with corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Very easy recipe with decent flavor. Might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong, but it just didn't turn out as good as I'd hoped. After almost ten hours, my beans weren't tender, my roast wouldn't shred, and it was still very watery. I had such high hopes after reading all the positive reviews. Oh well. Hopefully you'll have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
LOVED this recipe. Cut back on the spices by 1 Tablespoon, we are wimps:))) Flavor is fantastic. My husband could not say enough about how good it was. I was the pound of pinto beans the night before, placed them in the crock pot, covered with water, about 5 cups. My husband added the pork and spices and cooked on slow 8 hours. The meat fell apart taking it out of the crock pots. Doesn't get much simpler than this, and you'lll love the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLICKENUF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This made for a delicious Sunday dinner at my house! The only changes I made were to use canned beans and decrease the water because the beans weren't going to absorb as much. We all ate until we nearly had to roll ourselves away from the table. Glad there were leftovers for my lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This is a Southern Living recipe from October 2005.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
This has been my go-to recipe on a busy week when I know I will be too busy to cook dinner. It is so easy to make with ingredients that are standard in my pantry, and fun to assemble. The dish also keep well and served for leftovers. Great recipe and thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALDOR1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 235) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Orange and Milk-Braised Pork Carnitas

Make Chef John's perfect batch of tender carnitas today!

Crispy Pork Carnitas

See how to make tender, tasty, crispy carnitas for tacos.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States