Pork Chalupas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
My hubby is a very picky eater but he thought this recipe was excellent. I only did a couple of things different due to lack of ingredients. I added 1 can of diced jalapenos and a package of chili bean seasoning. We loved it and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darsbob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I don't really know how to cook beans, so I just used two cans of pinto beans, undrained and they worked fine. I also used one can less green chiles than the recipe called for. These were a nice change from regular tacos, but for the price of a pork shoulder I would have rather done something else with it than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
This was good. I made it with the homemade refried beans in the crockpot. I however will change one thing next time. After I shredded it I followed another reviewers recommendation about throwing it back into the over to crisp it up and I would NOT do that again. I think it destroyed the meat. We started to choke on the meat because it was so dry. Thank goodness I didn't crispup all the meat because I threw out what I did put back in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I have made this several times and the only change I make is to use half the salt called for. One of our favorite meals - thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
I scaled to 8 servings and subsituted pork for 3 lb chicken tenderloins. Used 2 cans undrained beans instead of dried. Omit salt! (no water in crock-pot) Chicken shreds easily by simply smashing in crock-pot. Served with corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Very easy recipe with decent flavor. Might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I don't know what I did wrong, but it just didn't turn out as good as I'd hoped. After almost ten hours, my beans weren't tender, my roast wouldn't shred, and it was still very watery. I had such high hopes after reading all the positive reviews. Oh well. Hopefully you'll have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
LOVED this recipe. Cut back on the spices by 1 Tablespoon, we are wimps:))) Flavor is fantastic. My husband could not say enough about how good it was. I was the pound of pinto beans the night before, placed them in the crock pot, covered with water, about 5 cups. My husband added the pork and spices and cooked on slow 8 hours. The meat fell apart taking it out of the crock pots. Doesn't get much simpler than this, and you'lll love the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLICKENUF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
This made for a delicious Sunday dinner at my house! The only changes I made were to use canned beans and decrease the water because the beans weren't going to absorb as much. We all ate until we nearly had to roll ourselves away from the table. Glad there were leftovers for my lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This is a Southern Living recipe from October 2005.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Making these pork chops is so easy, you won’t believe how rich they taste.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States